Pulled back in

My daughter’s ex, of about 9 months, and the father of her son was attacked on Tuesday. He has a brain injury, they removed a piece of his skull because of the swelling in his brain. He is in a medically induced coma that they are planning to wake him from Saturday or Sunday. I feel bad for him but he hasn’t been a good guy over the past 7-8 years and my daughter has gotten totally sucked back in. She is planning to bring him home and take care of him.

What if these guys come back to finish the job? Then her and my grandson are in danger.

What if she invests all her time in him and he goes right back to doing drugs, being unemployed, and stealing?

My daughter is a great person, went to college and is now going for her bachelor’s, all while working fulltime and raising her son. I don’t want to see her sucked back into his drama when she was finally beginning to let go.

But I know it’s her life and I have to let her live it her way.

Log in to write a note
February 2, 2018

It is hard, but the best thing you can do is let your daughter know that you are there for her no matter what. Good Luck!

February 2, 2018

Wow.. that’s mega.. I hope your daughter can rationally come to the right conclusion and do what’s best for her and her family.. I understand your worry x

February 3, 2018

wow that is an awful situation to be in,

take care

February 3, 2018

It is so hard sometimes to have to let them live life on their own terms and make their own mistakes. Makes me appreciate all the times my parents bit their tongues and then helped me pick up the pieces of my life…again.

February 3, 2018

Wow… I am so sorry you’re going through this… My daughter has bad taste in guys as well… I feel your pain… The most we can do is tell them we’re there for them and hope they do the right thing eventually… Some lessons have to be learned on their own… For some reason they seem to always think we don’t know what we are talking about…

February 3, 2018

@c-mcconnell isn’t that the truth

February 3, 2018

All these comments are soooo right.. and I have to say I’ve been the girl dating the WRONG guy so so many times. And for some reason we always have to be the ones that are ready to leave. We never listen to our mothers (who definitely know better). Love is a tricky tricky emotion. I wish the best for your daughter. I’m hoping this changes him for the better. Sigh. Ugh. What a tough situation.

February 7, 2018

Ugh, this is so hard. I relate all too much to this. My ex (baby daddy) had a motorcycle accident which resulted in a major brain injury. His family uses this as an excuse for his selifsh, narcisstic psychopathic behavior but it’s the way he’s always been. Fingers crossed that she doesn’t actually get sucked in and start over with him. It’s admirable of her to want to take care of him – it’s the natural instinct of a good human being. Let’s hope that’s all it is though; she nurtures him back to health and sends him on his way.