a.blessing

It has really been months and months, hasn’t it?   Here’s a quick rundown of what I’ve been up to. 

– Since my last entry I’ve been working for an IT Resourcing company.  I’m an account manager and recruiter, and I’ve definitely been enjoying it. 

– Kevin moved in with me at the end of September and we’ve been very happily co-habitating since then.  

– November brought nothing new or exciting to the table. 

– In December I had the opportunity to travel to  LA for  the staff Christmas party and some additional training for work.  (The main office is in Long Beach.)  I spent a few days there, had the chance to go to Disneyland and do tons of shopping.  All in all, it was a good trip. 

– Christmas was wonderful, I spent most of my time with family enjoying the season the traditional way with lots of good meals, gatherings, church and of course presents.

– New Years was quiet and relaxing, Kev and I rented a hotel room, played the Wii I got him for Christmas and watched the NYC ball drop on TV.

– And January…… Well, in January something very interesting and certainly life changing occurred.  After a few days of feeling a little "off" I knew that something was up.  My expected period (which lately is always precisely on time) was only 1 day late.  However, on a whim I decided to run to Dollarama (I know….I don’t know, lol) and buy a couple of pregnancy tests.   Who trusts a Dollarama pregnancy test, you ask?!  Ahh, well, my thought was that it’d just ease my mind and I would come to learn that in fact my intuition was completely off kilter.  At 5am the next morning after waking up and not being able to get back to sleep, I took the test.

Postive.

Ack!!!!  Was I shocked?  Hell yes!  But I was also extremely excited.  I called Kevin at work – he still harasses me for it – and I actually told him over the phone about the news.  He knew I’d been suspecting something, because we’d already discussed the fact that I had some kind of weird feeling.  We were both ecstatic.  That afternoon he met me on my lunch break at the office – I was the only one in that day.  We went to Shoppers and bought a more reliable test which I took right there in the Space2Work office bathroom.  (Probably not the way I’d ever imagined finding out about a pregnancy, but hey, not everything in life goes as planned)  And yes, again it was positive!

So to fast forward a couple of months…I am now 11.5 weeks pregnant and have been enjoying every minute of it.  Everything from the "oh-my-god-i’m-going-to-puke" to the "eeeeeeeeeeeek, I’m going to be a Mom!!!"  has been fun.  Well, okay, hanging my face over the toilet due to brushing my teeth might not be so hot, but it’s the price you pay I guess.  We didn’t wait long to tell our families.  We told his dad about a week later, and my parents the week after that.  I bought them each a Valentines card with Grandma/Grandpa/Uncle/Aunt (for my brother’s long term girlfriend) and presented them over dinner and dessert.  They’re all so excited about our expanding family.  My brother has been going around telling everybody that he’s going to be an uncle… He’s been wanting this for years already!  My Dad decided that due to the new arrival and the fact that he’ll be a grandfather we would need a new 18.5 foot 150HP inboard Glasstron boat at the lake….So he went out and bought that.  lol….I’m not complaining.  And my Mom has just been talking to all of her friends about throwing baby showers and being a Grandma. 

As for Kev and I…. We’ve decided that it’s time to talk marriage.  Not that we hadn’t already considered it – to be honest it’s something we discussed not long after moving in together, but at the time were certainly in no rush – and now we’re more serious.  I’ll be more comfortable knowing that the baby has parents who are happily married, or at the very least visibly committed to one another.  And I know Kevin feels the same way.  We’ve done some ring shopping and are planning to get engaged in the near future.  The wedding will be about a year or a little more down the road, sometime after the baby is born in September.  For the time being we are planning to stay in our small apartment.  In fact, we plan to stay even after the baby is born so that we can save enough for a house as soon as possible.  He/She will take up a corner of our living room… The "nursery" obviously won’t be flashy, but it’ll be enough until we can settle ourselves down somewhere more permanent. 

So as I said… Life really is full of surprises!  As for myself, while my belly expands my wardrobe is beginning to shrink, and I’m learning new things every day.  I may not have planned to enter motherhood at this point in time, but I am absolutely ready to go and looking forward to it. 

That is all.  🙂

xx Kristin

    

Log in to write a note
March 10, 2008

aww congrats on the lil one! i hope all goes well!

March 11, 2008

wow! that is so exciting! congratulations!! 🙂