Livin’ the Dream

Well, my kiddos just left to their Dad’s for 5 days. On one hand, I appreciate the peace and quiet. They’re starting to really feel the isolation thing. My daughter was up quite late on Face Time with her friend last night and as for my son, well… Fortnite is becoming a problem. On the other hand, it means I’m all by my lonesome until the partner is home from work. He should be home around 3:30 today. It’s not that I have nothing to do exactly, I think the problem has been finding the motivation to do anything at all. I made myself a checklist of bigger household chores and have been ticking one thing off a day. It does feel good to accomplish some Spring cleaning.

It will be nice when the whether changes and we can spend more time outside, open the pool and so on. I’d be happy as heck to just lounge around in the sun all day, listening to podcasts for work and going for a swim. It’s the random bouts of snow that I’ve had enough of. It’s not cozy anymore, it’s just annoying and it’s effecting my mood.

I took out a chicken to roast for dinner tonight. We never really had a proper “Easter” meal, as the kids wanted pizza (of course!) and I decided just to keep things fun & simple. We’ve been ordering a lot of delivery, it’s just easier than having to wait in line for hours at the grocery store. And maybe I’m becoming a bit lazy, I don’t know. Having said that, I’m dying inside a little and am craving a huge plate of veggies, so I think it’s time to cook a decent spread. I’m more than happy to sustain myself on the leftovers for the rest of this week.

I’m grateful that before this all started, I stocked my freezer and pantry with some staples. I remember it was a Thursday night in March, about a month ago now and I felt in my gut that something was going to change. I just absolutely knew it.  Sure enough by Friday afternoon, the local grocery stores were packed, people were hoarding food and supplies and I was resting easy knowing we had everything we needed. There’s a small, locally owned grocery store just across the street from where I live which has been such a blessing over the years. I shopped there, where it was quiet and safe and they continue to offer as much as they can to the community in this time of crazy uncertainty.

I should get going. I’m supposed to be continuing PD for work, but I feel over the past 2.5 weeks I’ve done about as much of that as I can actually stomach. I’m not a student, I’m an employee and I’m very good at my job. I’m not opposed to always continuing to learn and grow, gain new skills and such, but I do feel my time would be much better spent actually supporting the kids who need me. There are so many kids who don’t get the support and help at home with their schooling, who would certainly benefit from my being able to connect with them. I don’t understand what’s taking Admin so long to figure this all out. They had a meeting yesterday and literally said they had decided nothing, so we are just to continue with the YouTube videos and podcasts. I just don’t understand how this is hard? I can’t even begin to tell you how far my eyes are rolling back into my head right now.

So that’s that, I guess. Until tomorrow!

 

x K.

 

 

Log in to write a note
kat
April 15, 2020

I used to miss my kids like crazy when they went to their dad’s our pool opens in 3 weeks

April 16, 2020

@kaliko Absolutely!  It can be tough especially when it’s a long stretch of time. 3 weeks!  Lucky!  🙂

kat
April 16, 2020

@waterkisses when do you open your pool? We are opening ours mid may… a little early but it is still pretty to look at even if it is too cool to swim

April 16, 2020

@kaliko I’m not sure!  I like to get it open early as well, but we literally still have snow on the ground this year.  I think we did mid-May last year, I jacked the heat and thoroughly enjoyed it lol.

kat
April 16, 2020

@waterkisses you must be up north… burrrr! we did not have snow this year… a few flurries but nothing that really covered the ground

 

April 18, 2020

@kaliko Yes, I’m in Manitoba. 🙂  It’s been nice, but there are still some chilly days here and there.  Freezing rain in the forecast for today and snow on Monday.

kat
April 18, 2020

@waterkisses burrrrr! we are planting our veggie garden today. stay warm my sweet friend

 

April 18, 2020

@kaliko That sounds lovely!  Enjoy 🙂