A throne from which I’m told all history does unfold

I got back in the pool yesterday.  In terms of getting back to where I was back in March, I wasn’t too bad.  I think the walking helped with that.  In terms of an actual swim, it was frustrating because, again, there was a large group of people who seemed to think that the pool was their private pool.  GRRRRRRRRRRRR!

I did get these pics of signs on the Town Hall:

I also spotted this:

Todays swim was much better.  But, it shows the gym is lying.  According to them, 14 people can be in the pool at a time.  Bullshit.  There was 7 of us and there was barely room to move.

On the plus side, the patches I bought to protect my tattoo worked.  On the minus side, I managed to wear my mask into the shower, which was stupid of me.

I took a long route home to get my weekly walk in and spotted the horse in my main picture.

Food!

The lemon garlic chicken turned out OK:

I’d make it again, but next time I think I’ll only use 1 lemon, because it was incredibly sour.  But not unsalvagable.

Then during the week, I got an unexpected urge to make French Onion Soup.  No picture, because I forgot to take one.  Not quite to my taste, but I’ll play around with it.  But, I now know I can caramelise onion in the slow cooker, which is always good to know.

Yesterday I made Chicken Adobo in the instant pot (I’m pretty sure I got this recipe from @GypsyWynd:

This turned out really well, I’ll definitely be making it again.

And finally, I got confirmation of exactly how brain dead some Aberdeen FC players are.

There’s been a Covid outbreak in Aberdeen, which started last weekend.  Someone who came back from the rigs couldn’t be bothered to wait for his test results before going out on the piss.  They, of course, tested positive.  The outbreak has been linked to 28 pubs, clubs and restaraunts, three golf clubs and a junior football team.  The city is now back in lockdown.

So, what’s this to do with the club?

Well, it turns out that eight of the players decided the best thing to after a weak, insipid performance was to go out for a meal and a few drinks.  And they got caught up in the whole thing.

The result?  Two of them have tested positive and the other six now has to self isolate.  Our game yesterday was postponed (it should have been a forfeit) and our next two games will be played without 6 of our starting 11.

We know who they are, as they put their names to a public apology.  One of them also did an interview for the club YouTube channel.  So, how did they not realise that people from seven households broke the rules about how many different households can meet?

They thought that because they train together, they counted as one household.

Yeah…

Will

Log in to write a note
August 9, 2020

Here since the NHL started they all have to stay in one spot like a hotel, go no where and see no one including their family and people who are not a part of the team plus they get tested before every game or practice.  They are also not allowed to go to any restaurant they want or to the pub. they have one place they can eat at and that is it.  But so far no hockey player has gotten the virus so they are doing something right.

I hope you were no where near these players.

Be safe my friend….

August 9, 2020

@jaythesmartone I’m nowhere near Aberdeen at the moment.  Even if I was, I’d be nowhere near the bar they were in.  (I would, however, more than likely be in one of the other bars on the list)

August 9, 2020

Well, thinking because they train together, they’re a family is pretty creative logic.

August 9, 2020

@gypsywynd having watched the interview with one of them, it’s not them being creative.  It’s them being complete and utter fucking morons