Advice needed and answers given pt 1

The advice first:

I’m thinking of entering this writing competition. The advice I’m after is this: should I write something completely from scratch or should I look at stuff I’ve already written and polish one of those?

Now for the answers to the music quiz. Remember, one point for the song and one for the artist:

1) I have a tale to tell, Sometimes it gets so hard to hide it well

findingsunshine was the only person to guess this one and she got both right. It was Live To Tell by Madonna:

2) Hey there, here I am, I’m the man on the scene

I had two people take a guess at this one. Oribeth correctly guessed that it was The Commitments while pheric got that it was Too Hard To Handle:

3) I have sailed the world, beheld its wonders

Three guesses for this one, all of them getting two points. Tender Lumpling, pierced_poet and A Rather Shady Mogwi got that it was No Place Like london from Sweeney Todd:

4) Barbarisms by Barbaras, With pointed heels, Victorious, victorieas, kneel.

No one got BYOB by System Of A Down:

5) The last that ever she saw him, Carried away by a moonlight shadow

Again, no takers for Moonlight Shadow by Mike Oldfield:

6) I get high when I see you go by, My oh my.

Another one with no guesses, It’s Only Love by The Beatles:

7) Ready Or Not, Here I Come, You Can’t Hide, Gonna Find You and Take it Slowly

I capture the castle, for some strange reason, was embarrassed to know that this was Ready Or Not by The Fugees:

8) Helping the kids out of their coats, But wait the babies haven’t been born oh

Another no guesses one, Mushaboom by Feist:

9) Brian, the babe they called Brian, he grew, he grew, and grew,

Tender Lumpling gets two points, Oribeth only one for Brian’s Song from Life Of Brian:

10) Sun, Take some time, get away

It’s kind of fitting that findingsunshine gets full points for It’s The Sun by the Polyphonic Spree:

<embed src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/P9gk1PGZxaE&hl=en_GB&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x5d1719&color2=0xcd311b&border=1&#8243; type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” allowscriptaccess=”always” allowfullscreen=”true” width=”980″ height=”765″>

11) I wonder why, I don’t know what you see

No-one got Plastic by Portishead:

12) All day I’ve faced the barren waste, Without the taste of water

edna million got that it was Cool Water but was correct that it was a different artist than they thought. The version I have is by Johnny Cash, from American 6: Ain’t No Grave:

13) Well, he was the Sax Man from the state of Tennessee, First set in with the band at the ripe old age of three, weeks old

Sax Man by This Lonely Island goes guess-less:

14) This here’s a tale for all the fellas, Try to do what those ladies tell us

Well, pheric was able to tell me that this was Bust A Move by Young MC:

15) Here I am, I’m the master of your destiny, I am the one the only one, I am the god of kingdom come

No prizes for Gimme The Prize by Queen:

16) I love you, but I gotta stay true

findingsunshine and pheric both show me Mercy by Duffy:

17) All I want to be is washed out by the sea, No death star over me

No-one wanted Blur to deliver Strange News from Another Star:

18) On my own, Pretending he’s beside me

Oribeth, The Darkness Daisy, pheric and findingsunshine all got that it was indeed On My Own. However, the version that came up wasn’t from Les Mis but rather the version in Glee:

19) These mist covered mountains, Are a home now for me

Only edna million recognised the song that played over one of the most powerful moments in The West Wing, Brothers in Arms by Dire Straits:

20) All this feels strange and untrue, And I won’t waste a minute without you

If you Open Your Eyes, like The Darkness Daisy and findingsunshine did, you’d have recognised the Snow Patrol song:

Log in to write a note

I’d suggest you write something from scratch – you’ll probably enjoy entering the competition more that way.

I’d suggest you write something from scratch – you’ll probably enjoy entering the competition more that way.

I’d suggest you write something from scratch – you’ll probably enjoy entering the competition more that way.

I’d suggest you write something from scratch – you’ll probably enjoy entering the competition more that way.

April 27, 2010

Heh. Interesting blog. I’m not quite that bad. I do spend a lot of time looking things up on wikipedia though. Today it’s been liquid nitrogen and nuclear fission reactors. And explosions caused by improperly stored liquid nitrogen. And Chernobyl. And nuclear bombs. And WWII. And Churchill. And Clegg. And the latest opinion polls. And the electoral system. Damn system. Let the majority speak.

April 27, 2010

Heh. Interesting blog. I’m not quite that bad. I do spend a lot of time looking things up on wikipedia though. Today it’s been liquid nitrogen and nuclear fission reactors. And explosions caused by improperly stored liquid nitrogen. And Chernobyl. And nuclear bombs. And WWII. And Churchill. And Clegg. And the latest opinion polls. And the electoral system. Damn system. Let the majority speak.

April 27, 2010

Heh. Interesting blog. I’m not quite that bad. I do spend a lot of time looking things up on wikipedia though. Today it’s been liquid nitrogen and nuclear fission reactors. And explosions caused by improperly stored liquid nitrogen. And Chernobyl. And nuclear bombs. And WWII. And Churchill. And Clegg. And the latest opinion polls. And the electoral system. Damn system. Let the majority speak.

April 27, 2010

Heh. Interesting blog. I’m not quite that bad. I do spend a lot of time looking things up on wikipedia though. Today it’s been liquid nitrogen and nuclear fission reactors. And explosions caused by improperly stored liquid nitrogen. And Chernobyl. And nuclear bombs. And WWII. And Churchill. And Clegg. And the latest opinion polls. And the electoral system. Damn system. Let the majority speak.

April 27, 2010

And I’d agree with Steven the Rill; write something from scratch.

April 27, 2010

And I’d agree with Steven the Rill; write something from scratch.

April 27, 2010

And I’d agree with Steven the Rill; write something from scratch.

April 27, 2010

And I’d agree with Steven the Rill; write something from scratch.