Anyone seen the tooth fairy?

Normally, when I see 6am, it’s because I haven’t slept. So, waking up at that time is unusual.

I took my tablet with a sip of water, got dressed, rolled some cigarettes and headed out with Willy Wonka’s introduction playing on my mp3 player.

I thought it would take me an hour to walk to the hospital, but it only took half that time. So I was earlier than I expected to be. I did spot this rather cool shop sign on the way:

photobucket

While I waited for Nikki to turn up I wandered down to where the college I used to go to was. It’s now completely gone :¬(

Nikki turned up at about half 7 and we headed to the ward. The reception wasn’t even open so I went and found someone to tell them I was there.

Back to the reception area where we sat and talked about all sorts of things. I saw this and just had to take a picture:

photobucket

At about 8:20, 20 minutes after I was supposed to be there they remembered me and I had a chat to the anaesthesiologist. Back to the reception and more waiting. I later found out that they thought they might have to cancel as there was a shortage of beds.

Into another room, got weighed (I weigh 11 stone), answered a few questions, took off my necklaces and took out my tongue piercing and got changed into my lovely gown and plastic undies. Finally they had a bed for me.

Went to the ward, put my clothes in the locker, fired up my laptop so Nikki could watch videos while she waited for me. She had to go because she couldn’t wait on the ward. I then walked, looking like a numpty in my gown and boots, to pre-op. On the way passed quite a few murals. Disney, The Simpsons, Star Wars and Dr Who! (Though they may want to update that one as it’s the 10th Doctor.)

Answered the same questions again, had the dots for them to hook me up to a machine and then to the theatre.

It was here that the anaesthesiologist told me about the op almost being cancelled. He put the thing into my hand for pumping me full of ‘lovely drugs’ (his words) and that’s all I can remember.

Until I woke up in the recovery room. I had a couple of pads in my mouth and my throat felt as if someone had looked at the Sahara desert and decided that what it really needed was less moisture.

(Side note: I really, really, REALLY cannot abide having a dry throat. A dry mouth I can live with, but not my throat. I can’t explain it either.)

The dentist who did the op came in to see me and told me that they had to remove one tooth they thought they could save. So, 9 teeth out in total. I was in the recovery room for about half an hour (I think. For some reason they had covered the clock with a piece of paper) and then back to the ward.

By 1pm, I was ready to go. The only feeling I had was as if I was slightly pissed. But I had to wait. Eventually they gave me some water but I was still bored, having left my book in my bag which Nikki had. Eventually someone on the ward lent me a paper to read.

Then Nikki turned up, it being visiting time on the ward. We sat and chatted for a while then she went to find out how soon I could leave. She was told I could get dressed so I asked for my piercing and went to the toilet to put it back in. While there I noticed something strange. I could understand the body wash beside the sink, but the shampoo and conditioner?

Back to my bed and finally I was given a discharge letter and told I could go. Got dressed and left. I was planning to take the straw I was using to use later on, but I forgot. So to the shop in the hospital we went. They didn’t have any straws to buy but the person behind the counter gave me one of the slush puppy straws to use. Yay!

Into the taxi and back to Nikki’s.

Couple more pics:

photobucket

The ‘L’ on the back of my left hand (not that I need to).

photobucket

Face!

Will

photobucket
 

[ writers anonymous logo ]

photobucket
 

Log in to write a note
April 11, 2010

9 teeth, wow!

April 11, 2010

9 teeth, wow!

April 11, 2010

9 teeth, wow!

April 11, 2010

9 teeth, wow!

Glad you’re doing ok and everything went well. *hugs* ~Corby

Glad you’re doing ok and everything went well. *hugs* ~Corby

Glad you’re doing ok and everything went well. *hugs* ~Corby

Glad you’re doing ok and everything went well. *hugs* ~Corby

April 11, 2010

Glad it went well, hope you’re not in too much pain! Wait, that sounds like I’m hoping you *are* in pain, which is not what I mean. . . . I’m shutting up now. HUGS!

April 11, 2010

Glad it went well, hope you’re not in too much pain! Wait, that sounds like I’m hoping you *are* in pain, which is not what I mean. . . . I’m shutting up now. HUGS!

April 11, 2010

Glad it went well, hope you’re not in too much pain! Wait, that sounds like I’m hoping you *are* in pain, which is not what I mean. . . . I’m shutting up now. HUGS!

April 11, 2010

Glad it went well, hope you’re not in too much pain! Wait, that sounds like I’m hoping you *are* in pain, which is not what I mean. . . . I’m shutting up now. HUGS!

April 11, 2010

*kersnorffles* I love the plant’s note… especially the extra ‘o’ shoved onto the very end! “20 minutes after I was supposed to be there they remembered me…” Oh, I hate it when people do that to me! How could someone ‘forget’ I’m waiting, I’m kinda hard to miss, it’s not like I blend in with the crowd. *laughs* “I then walked, looking like a numpty in my gown and boots, topre-op.” *cracks up* Now I’m picturing a dainty flower-print gown that shows everyone your butt and big clunky black boots! “…as if I was slightly pissed.” *cue several seconds of confusion before my half-awake American brain translates that properly* I was thinking, “Okay, it’s weird that they covered the clock, but why would that piss him off- OH! Yeah, never mind, I’ve got it now.” *looks at hand photos* OUCH! It’s even making a weird grumpy-face at you! *hugs and well-wishes for a speedy recovery from the joys of surgery* ~Shady PS: I’m amazed that this entry was so coherent… I had four teeth removed at once (my wisdom teeth) and I was pretty much a zombie for several hours afterward and still rather loopy for a good twenty-four hours!

April 11, 2010

*kersnorffles* I love the plant’s note… especially the extra ‘o’ shoved onto the very end! “20 minutes after I was supposed to be there they remembered me…” Oh, I hate it when people do that to me! How could someone ‘forget’ I’m waiting, I’m kinda hard to miss, it’s not like I blend in with the crowd. *laughs* “I then walked, looking like a numpty in my gown and boots, topre-op.” *cracks up* Now I’m picturing a dainty flower-print gown that shows everyone your butt and big clunky black boots! “…as if I was slightly pissed.” *cue several seconds of confusion before my half-awake American brain translates that properly* I was thinking, “Okay, it’s weird that they covered the clock, but why would that piss him off- OH! Yeah, never mind, I’ve got it now.” *looks at hand photos* OUCH! It’s even making a weird grumpy-face at you! *hugs and well-wishes for a speedy recovery from the joys of surgery* ~Shady PS: I’m amazed that this entry was so coherent… I had four teeth removed at once (my wisdom teeth) and I was pretty much a zombie for several hours afterward and still rather loopy for a good twenty-four hours!

April 11, 2010

*kersnorffles* I love the plant’s note… especially the extra ‘o’ shoved onto the very end! “20 minutes after I was supposed to be there they remembered me…” Oh, I hate it when people do that to me! How could someone ‘forget’ I’m waiting, I’m kinda hard to miss, it’s not like I blend in with the crowd. *laughs* “I then walked, looking like a numpty in my gown and boots, topre-op.” *cracks up* Now I’m picturing a dainty flower-print gown that shows everyone your butt and big clunky black boots! “…as if I was slightly pissed.” *cue several seconds of confusion before my half-awake American brain translates that properly* I was thinking, “Okay, it’s weird that they covered the clock, but why would that piss him off- OH! Yeah, never mind, I’ve got it now.” *looks at hand photos* OUCH! It’s even making a weird grumpy-face at you! *hugs and well-wishes for a speedy recovery from the joys of surgery* ~Shady PS: I’m amazed that this entry was so coherent… I had four teeth removed at once (my wisdom teeth) and I was pretty much a zombie for several hours afterward and still rather loopy for a good twenty-four hours!

April 11, 2010

*kersnorffles* I love the plant’s note… especially the extra ‘o’ shoved onto the very end! “20 minutes after I was supposed to be there they remembered me…” Oh, I hate it when people do that to me! How could someone ‘forget’ I’m waiting, I’m kinda hard to miss, it’s not like I blend in with the crowd. *laughs* “I then walked, looking like a numpty in my gown and boots, topre-op.” *cracks up* Now I’m picturing a dainty flower-print gown that shows everyone your butt and big clunky black boots! “…as if I was slightly pissed.” *cue several seconds of confusion before my half-awake American brain translates that properly* I was thinking, “Okay, it’s weird that they covered the clock, but why would that piss him off- OH! Yeah, never mind, I’ve got it now.” *looks at hand photos* OUCH! It’s even making a weird grumpy-face at you! *hugs and well-wishes for a speedy recovery from the joys of surgery* ~Shady PS: I’m amazed that this entry was so coherent… I had four teeth removed at once (my wisdom teeth) and I was pretty much a zombie for several hours afterward and still rather loopy for a good twenty-four hours!

April 11, 2010

RYN: “The operation was on Friday.” Doh! I knew that, too. *laughs at self* See, I TOLD you I was only half-awake when I read this. 🙂 ~Shady

April 11, 2010

RYN: “The operation was on Friday.” Doh! I knew that, too. *laughs at self* See, I TOLD you I was only half-awake when I read this. 🙂 ~Shady

April 11, 2010

RYN: “The operation was on Friday.” Doh! I knew that, too. *laughs at self* See, I TOLD you I was only half-awake when I read this. 🙂 ~Shady

April 11, 2010

RYN: “The operation was on Friday.” Doh! I knew that, too. *laughs at self* See, I TOLD you I was only half-awake when I read this. 🙂 ~Shady

April 11, 2010

at least it’s done! .

April 11, 2010

at least it’s done! .

April 11, 2010

at least it’s done! .

April 11, 2010

at least it’s done! .

I’m glad that it’s over and done for you. 🙂

I’m glad that it’s over and done for you. 🙂

I’m glad that it’s over and done for you. 🙂

I’m glad that it’s over and done for you. 🙂

April 13, 2010

damn…9 teeth. i wish i could see the pics you posted, but the compueters here at work restrict several websites. slush puppies are awesome 🙂 and so are their fluorescent straws.

April 13, 2010

damn…9 teeth. i wish i could see the pics you posted, but the compueters here at work restrict several websites. slush puppies are awesome 🙂 and so are their fluorescent straws.

April 13, 2010

damn…9 teeth. i wish i could see the pics you posted, but the compueters here at work restrict several websites. slush puppies are awesome 🙂 and so are their fluorescent straws.

April 13, 2010

damn…9 teeth. i wish i could see the pics you posted, but the compueters here at work restrict several websites. slush puppies are awesome 🙂 and so are their fluorescent straws.