Arty farty

This weekend is the Middlesbrough Art Weekender.  It’s not been going long, in fact this was the second time it’s been run.

There was one thing I was interested, something called SONIC Crossing at the Transporter Bridge.  On the way there, I ran into another thing I was interested in doing, but didn’t know where I’d find it.  It’s called Pedlin Presses.  It’s basically a printing press, old fashioned hand cranked, on a bicycle going round town.  I know the guy running it from other stuff.  He asked if I wanted to make a press, I said yes and the result is the picture above.  There’s only going to be 100 of them made and mine is number 25.  Now to see if I can find a nice frame to put it in.

I then went to the Transporter Bridge.  The thing there was underwhelming, to be honest.  It was basically listening to the noise of the bridge crossing the river on an iPad as the bridge is crossing the river.

Yeah.

It turned out that wasn’t the end of me and art this weekend.  I went to the supermarket to pick up a couple of things and found this:

 

Cute, isn’t it?  Written on the bottom were instructions to take a pic, upload it to Instagram with a particular hashtag and hide it someone else.  And, thus, I was actively involved in a second art project.  How could I not follow the instructions.

Something that,s been on my mind.  It’s really makes me smile that so many businesses are starting to run Autism Friendly Hour.  It’s a small thing, it doesn’t affect most of their customers one way or another but it does make life a little easier for people whose lives aren’t easy.  There’s so much shit stuff happening in the world, it’s sometimes hard to remember that nice stuff can happen as well.  Particularly now, I think it’s important to remind people of that.

Will

Log in to write a note
October 6, 2018

I really like that first picture.  And what you did is a great gensture…I wish I could do more stuff like that.