Commercial airplanes have a horn

It’s amazing the stuff I learn from Mystery Hour that I had no idea I wanted to know.

Talked about the power cut, shown off my new ink (see last two entries).

Food! Last week I made chicken curry out of a packet in the slow cooker:

If I use this stuff again, I’ll add some curry powder, because it was impressively bland for a curry.

Yesterday, I made butter chicken in the instant pot:

I messed this recipe up. I used the wrong type of cream (I couldn’t find heavy cream, so got double instead), used too little cream and added too much garam masala. Despite that, it turned out OK, though I’ll wait until I’ve made it properly to really judge.

I got a new mask. I’ve lost my map of Scotland one (it’s in the house somewhere, just not sure where) so I ordered a Star Trek one:

I went to Etsy to get another one (it’s really comfy) and discovered that I actually ordered one in red with the gold logo. So, I’ve messaged them.

I passed my food safety course.

Went swimming yesterday with a patch on my new ink. My tattoo is now angry with me, so went for a walk today instead. Here’s three pics:

The government has finally released a track and trace app and they’ve overengineered it. There’s no way to log a negative test, there’s no way to log any tests that weren’t requested from the government. And it’s got a QR code scanner so I can log in to places.

Now, there’s two problems with this. One, there’s no way for me to log out of places and two, it’s made it more complicated than before to go to the pub. Before, it was a case of writing down my details or giving them to a member of staff. Now, I have to get my phone out, unlock it, find the app, open it, open the scanner and scan the code. It’s a classic case of thinking that because it’s tech it’s automatically better. It’s not.

Another Private Eye funny to leave you on:

Will

Log in to write a note
September 27, 2020

The mask you have is not what Canadians can have because the material is too thin and it still lets out air and droplets. Ours have to be snug.

And we have a similar app but ours tells us if we are near anyone who has symptoms or has been exposed.

September 27, 2020

@jaythesmartone oh, our app does that, but they also added all these unnecessary bells and whistles because it’s tech and that must mean it’s good