Geek camp

Full pic:

Wookie cushion!

Thursday was the trip there. And, as is becoming usual, there was a delay. We were stuck for half an hour because there was a problem with the power line. It didn’t actually make me late getting in though.

I got my pack, and went to the caravan. It was quite nice:

Shower was a nightmare to use. I showered and changed then went for a wander. I was hoping some of the traders might be open, as I had lost my earring on the train and forgot to take my spares with me. One of them was, but they didn’t have earrings. The guy running it took pity on me and sold me one that he had but didn’t put out.

Then the small room opened. I stayed for the opening, left for the quiz and went back after. I didn’t get called up for karaoke, unfortunately.

Friday was the first full day. I watched the official opening of the event, where we were told about things like the SFW radio station and the documentary. I then had a look round the traders and got myself a new earring and a thing for holding my pint at gigs:

I went to a panel about making and distributing films on a small budget which was quite interesting.

I missed my slot to meet BRIAN BLESSED, so I just joined the queue and they didn’t seem too bothered. I got my VIP pass signed and I got my picture with him:

Then it was time for the Blessed to talk:

And talk he did. The interviewer asked him “How are you?” and the answer took half an hour and incorporated the Queen asking Blessed to say “GORDON’S ALIVE!”, his friendship with Kenneth Brannagh and a Shakespeare recital. (By the way, the Shakespeare was magnificent.) He later sang opera for us.

He was asked a total of three questions in the hour panel and got a standing ovation when he left the stage.

Then he collapsed.

It was seriously like someone had pressed mute on the entire room. that lasted for about 2-3 minutes until we heard “DON’T WORRY, I’M OK”. It turns out he tripped over a step, which we roundly booed later in the evening.

I then went back to the caravan for a power nap.

The first act in the main room in the evening was supposed to be a cabaret by Hattie Snooks. Unfortunately, she had tech issues, so she performed as her alter ego Queen Mab:

I wasn’t keen at first, but she won me over in the end. I would add a video of her performing, but I can’t find any.

Then, as is tradition, it was time for Professor Elemental:

He was brilliant, as ever. He recorded part of a video (which isn’t out yet) and appeared on stahe with monkeys:

Queen Mab (no pics of that), Madame Misfit:

A hula dancer:

A giant inflatable unicorn:

Which was sent bouncing around the crowd and a lion and a tiger:

It was fantastic. Here’s my favourite of his songs:

Then I went through to the small room for the end of Madame Misfit:

And I do mean the very end, I only caught three songs. But what I did hear I really liked. Here’s one of the songs:

I then bounced between the two rooms then bed.

Saturday morning brought an exchange which perfectly sums up the Sci-Fi Weekender. There’s a swimming pool at the holiday camp where the con is held. I took my swimming stuff, only to be told that it wouldn’t be open. they obviously changed their mind, because I was stood outside finishing a smoke when a lifeguard walked towards me. She stopped, looked at the cosplayers behind me, then looked at me.

“Sci-fi weekender?”

“Yup.”

I then went into the building and saw this:

I watched the puppet parade, then got my swimming gear and went for a swim. One of the waterslides was working so, as a mature, grown up 44 year old, of course I went down it.

I dropped my swimming stuff back at the caravan and headed back in. I went to a panel about crime writing which was interesting to me. I then bought myself a badge:

And got this clock as a birthday present for Nikki:

I then went to a panel called When Trek Goes Wrong about, well, bad episodes of Star Trek. Then it was Just a Minute which, between Ian McNiece constantly complaining about being bored and Andrew Lee Potts not even understanding the rules of the game was hilarious.

The first thing in the evening was death Ingloria:

Who were brilliant. A mix of music and anime, they’ve released two albums, both as comic books. Definitely the musical find of the weekend for me:

I then went into the main room for The Dark Room. It’s something that has a lot of fans and it was funny, but it got repetitive very quickly.

There wasn’t actually anything in the small room while that was on, but it put me in a good place for Queen Mab. Which turned into a Hattie Snooks/Queen Mab mashup set, involving a sequinned cushion with a picture of Lieutenant Reginald Barclay holding a cat:

and monkeys dancing to a cover of The Bad Touch:

8am, Sunday morning, I was at the train station, cursing myself for thinking that getting an 8am train back to Boro was a good idea.

It was smaller than the last Weekender I was at. All the guests were living in the UK, there were less people and definitely less people. But it was a celebration and a damn good one at that. Fun was most certainly had. Roll on the next one in March.

Oh, and part of my journey home was delayed due to signal falure.

Will

Log in to write a note
November 25, 2022

wow looks like so much fun, pic u posted,  unicorn lol

November 25, 2022

do they have star war sci fi events? i would love go

kat
November 26, 2022

Looks like a blast

November 26, 2022

You had me at Brian Blessed! I’ve always been a Mr. B fan but Professor Elemental gave him what for there. That definitely looks like an awesome weekend. I’ve done many geeky things in my life but attending any kind of convention isn’t one of them.