Howdy!

For those of you wondering, in the pic in my last entry I’m the one kneeling down in the yellow rugby shirt.

I won a new telly!  It’s the same size as my old one, but this one is a smart TV.  I was needing a new one, my old one was 5 years old and showing its age.

Capsule reviews of the Oscar nominated films I’ve watched thus far:

A Star is Born: I don’t get the hype.  Is it because it was expected to be a disaster and turned out not to be?  Frankly, I was bored by the film.

Black Panther: it’s not a bad film.  But it wasn’t even the best Marvel film of last year, never mind one of the best overall.

Bohemian Rhapsody: It’s a decent film, but I can’t help thinking that there’s a better warts and all film to be made of Freddie Mercury’s life rather than this hagiography.  Problem is, even if you could get the rest of Queen to sign off on that film, you’re not going to get anyone better to play Mercury than Rami Malek.

Can You Ever Forgive me?: I loved, loved, loved this film.  Melissa McCarthy and Richard E Grant are outstanding in their roles and I really don’t know how the director isn’t nominated as well.

And that’s as far as I’ve got so far.

Had quite a relaxing weekend, really.  Watched the Formula E race yesterday, which was crazy.

Will

Log in to write a note
February 17, 2019

They should give away smart TVs.  They’re 24×7 commercials for the content they pimp out. I’m assuming content providers pay the manufacturers for placement on the home screens, so any money from the consumer is gravy.

February 17, 2019

I have not seen any of these! However, can you ever forgive me & bohemian rhapsody are on my list. I am just not into any of the marvel movies, I cannot get into them & had zero interest in seeing A star is born, lady gaga has never been my fav nor has Bradley cooper.

February 18, 2019

They say “smart” TV’s are the future.  I have two and they seem to be better then the old fashioned ones I use to have.