In which Will introduces Galactica Actual

I’m sure you all remember me writing about what happened on my birthday

Well, of course, that left me stuck. Daphne did put out a call for donations towards getting me aq new laptop and had some offers and even some money come through. But I found another way.

T-Mobile over here do a thing over here for broadband on the move. It’s a usb modem that you just plug into the computer and away you go. Well, one of the deals that they offer comes with a free laptop. I did my maths, figured out that I can just about afford it and signed up. The package was supposed to arrive today but it got here on Saturday.

And so, ladies and gentlepeople, it is my honour and indeed privilege to iontroduce you to Galactica Actual:

photobucket

photobucket

The spec:
3gig memory,
250gig hard drive,
15″ widescreen monitor,
4 usb ports,
built in webcam,
built in wifi card,
built in bluetooth.

And, dear FSM, is this thing ever fast. I know it’s much more powerful than my old machine but still. I noticed the difference when downloading Being Human from the BBC iPlayer (incidentally, if you do have the iPlayer, get the desktop version. Much better than the old manager style) and it downloaded in minutes rather than about an hour.

There are a few problems I have with it, the main one being that is runs Vista (seriously, how do you make a new OS that’s worse than the one it’s replacing?) but I’ll deal with it.

So the weekend has mainly been spent pimping it out. I know Daphne may not like that I’m not using a pic of her (sorry honey) but I could not resist this as my desktop pic:
photobucket

So, next entry will probably be a general update entry and will be in video form.

Couple of other things before I go (I did add these as an it on my last entry, but as it was a few days later I’ll repeat them here).

I defy you not to smile while watching this:

And it’s coming up to my 1500th entry. So those of you who have been reading me for a while will know what that means. To everyone else, it means that I’m looking for your questions. Go to it.

Will

[ writers anonymous logo ]

Widgets & Flash Toys

Log in to write a note

That’s brilliant. 🙂 I had my doubts about Vista too when I got this laptop but it’s grown on me. Or maybe I’ve just got used to it.

That’s brilliant. 🙂 I had my doubts about Vista too when I got this laptop but it’s grown on me. Or maybe I’ve just got used to it.

That’s brilliant. 🙂 I had my doubts about Vista too when I got this laptop but it’s grown on me. Or maybe I’ve just got used to it.

February 9, 2009

we love Charlie and Lola in this house 🙂 Sweet laptop!

February 9, 2009

we love Charlie and Lola in this house 🙂 Sweet laptop!

February 9, 2009

we love Charlie and Lola in this house 🙂 Sweet laptop!

February 9, 2009

That’s good news.

February 9, 2009

That’s good news.

February 9, 2009

That’s good news.

February 9, 2009

What I heard and what I am now experiencing with a note book recently purchased is that Vista seems to work fine when it’s the first OS installed on the system. It’s when you try to upgrade to Vista where everything goes to hell and you’re fraked. So you should be fine, I hope. Later,

February 9, 2009

What I heard and what I am now experiencing with a note book recently purchased is that Vista seems to work fine when it’s the first OS installed on the system. It’s when you try to upgrade to Vista where everything goes to hell and you’re fraked. So you should be fine, I hope. Later,

February 9, 2009

What I heard and what I am now experiencing with a note book recently purchased is that Vista seems to work fine when it’s the first OS installed on the system. It’s when you try to upgrade to Vista where everything goes to hell and you’re fraked. So you should be fine, I hope. Later,

February 9, 2009

the lighter is better lookin than I am anyway 🙂

February 9, 2009

the lighter is better lookin than I am anyway 🙂

February 9, 2009

the lighter is better lookin than I am anyway 🙂

February 10, 2009

ryn – lmao!!! that wouldn’t be so funny but for the fact the reason i CANNOT STAND lambrini is cos i once mixed it with whisky, like you do, and was, needless to say, VERY ill ….while in boro!!!!

February 10, 2009

ryn – lmao!!! that wouldn’t be so funny but for the fact the reason i CANNOT STAND lambrini is cos i once mixed it with whisky, like you do, and was, needless to say, VERY ill ….while in boro!!!!

February 10, 2009

ryn – lmao!!! that wouldn’t be so funny but for the fact the reason i CANNOT STAND lambrini is cos i once mixed it with whisky, like you do, and was, needless to say, VERY ill ….while in boro!!!!

February 10, 2009

and i think that’s a cool desktop pic 🙂

February 10, 2009

and i think that’s a cool desktop pic 🙂

February 10, 2009

and i think that’s a cool desktop pic 🙂