Intrigue

So, I did try cooking something new last week.  I cooked steak.  T’wasn’t bad, but I needed a bit of tweaking so it’s medium rare, not medium.

I had a look through the slow cooker recipe book I bought last week.  Most of the recipes involve a lot of cooking before I put everything into the slow cooker.  My idea of a slow cooker recipe is that it tells me what quantities of what ingredients to put in the cooker and how long to cook at what settings.  I’ll look for another one.

This week, I’m making a recipe for pineapple chicken.  So, so much soy sauce.

I’m watching wrestling to get caught up before Wrestlemania next weekend.

I found out more about my hidden aunt last week.

I’ve never really talked about this, but I’ve known for a while that I have another aunt.  Decades ago, when I was just a wee slip of a boy (rather than a fat lump of a man), my dad was drunk and going through old photos.  He handed me one and asked me to go ask mum who the woman in the pic was.  Mum told me to tell dad to stop drinking.  It was then that dad told me that my mum has a sister that no-one talks to.

Last week, while on the phone to my mum, she told me about a falling out my gran had with my aunt Joan (though this was before the big rift).  So, I know I have an aunt called Joan, she had three children (including twins) and she once accused my gran of not being a real grandparent for not wanting to babysit one of her grandkids.  (Gran, being gran, replied my aunt isn’t much of a mother if she doesn’t want to take all the kids on holiday.)

I’m not going to really do anything with this information (if I was going to look for and try and contact anyone it’d be Amy), but it’s still interesting to know.

Not entirely sure why I shared it here either.  But, there we are.

Will

Log in to write a note
March 30, 2019

It’s interesting how we find the lost relatives.