It’s about taking a fall

It’s a record time for me at the moment. Not as in Guinness Book of, as in music.

Thursday, I got the new St Paul and the Broken Bones album, Angels in Science Fiction:

I didn’t know what to expect. Literally. I was introduced to this band as a blues band, then their last album was psychedelic surf rock. This one is more like Fleet Foxes and it really works for them. Straight to the top of my list of favourite albums this year.

Then, yesterday was Record Store Day. I queued for four hours in the rain in the hope of getting the records I wanted. Did I succeed? Hell yes.

First one I got was Nice Idea by Kae Tempest:

If you’ve been reading for a while, you’ll know I’m a huge fan of Kae. This is new stuff they recorded while on tour, so i desperately wanted this one. And I got the last one in the store. It’s good, though I’m not a fan of the title track (don’t like drum and bass).

The next one is Opus One by Mike Oldfield:

This one I wanted more as an interesting curio. It’s the demo that became Tubular Balls. As you can imagine, for a 51 year old recording made on tape, the quality isn’t the best, but it’s still fun to hear how a classic started.

Finally, it’s a bit of Frank Turner:

This is two discs, with the second one being demos of the tracks. Will admit, slightly disappointed that it doesn’t have any of the tracks from the deluxe version of the album, but still.

The inner sleeve is amazing:

Next week I get the first album by the legend that is Don Letts, one by Neil Gaiman and a string quartet and the new Lottery Winners album.

So, yeah.

Today, they’re testing the emergency alert system on phones here in the UK.  That’ll be fun.

I’ve started creative writing again.  Forgot how good it felt.

Also, getting frustrated with myself over my big cross stitch project, because I keep fucking up and it’s irritating.

I’ve finally got my electricity problems sorted, so my account is currently massively in credit, because they’ve credited me with all the money from the government I should have had since December.  Watch it all get eaten up by my first bill.

In case you’re wondering what my Sunday morning is like, I’m listening to Cerys Matthews on 6 Music and I’ve got food cooking in the slow cooker.  Bolognaise.  I’m trying adding milk to it, because I’ve heard that it works.

Anyway.  Off for a swim.

Will

Log in to write a note