It’s OK to not be OK

This is a sequel of sorts to this entry.

We’re coming up on Mental Health Awareness week.  And there was a big reminder of why this is so important this week with the suicide of Scott Hutchison, lead singer of Frightened Rabbit.

I’ve not actually listened to any of their stuff but the reaction reminds me of when I found out that Kurt Cobain killed himself.

There’s still a stigma around mental health.  It’s changing but slowly.  Far, far too slowly for my taste.

I don’t get it.

I just don’t fucking get it.

You would never, ever, ever say to someone with their arm in a sling or their leg in plaster that their injury is fake.  You would never say to someone with cancer that if they just picked themselves up it would go away.

Yet there are people who think comments like that are fair to make when it comes to mental health issues.  Are they buggery.

So, to reiterate the title of this entry: it’s OK to not be OK.  Anyone who tries to tell you otherwise isn’t someone you want or need in your life.

Finally, I’m going to make an offer.  And this is not just for this entry, it’s completely open ended.  If you need to talk to someone, if there’s anything you need to get off your chest and you feel that there’s no-one you can talk to, you can talk to me.  Leave a private note and unload.  There’ll be no judgement.  There will be advice if needed or asked for and there will be support and love in every case.

I got you.

Will

Log in to write a note
May 13, 2018

This is very kind.  Thank you.

May 13, 2018

thanks for adding me  have a  nice  day