Material for reading

So, my Oscar predictions didn’t go as well this year as last.  Ahhhh, well.  Delighted for Olivia Coleman (and her speech was great.)

So, yeah, books.  I signed up for a book gifting thing through Reddit.  The first of the books that the person who got me sent me arrived today.  Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell.  It’s a book I’ve been thinking of buying for ages so now I don’t have to.

I also bought I’ll Be Gone In The Dark by Michelle McNamara.  It’s the paperback version, so it’s been updated to reflect the fact they found GSK.  I’m enjoying it so far.

I got £15 for doing a survey, so I bought myself the facsimile edition of Beeton’s Christmas Album containing A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  The ads are hilarious.  You can buy that here.

I also pre-ordered The Book of Dust: The Secret Commonwealth by Sir Philip Pullman.  I’m a huge His Dark Materials fan, so it was a no brainer.

Finally, click here to see what my home city looked like in the 80’s

Will

Log in to write a note
February 28, 2019

Just so you know that being from Canada I find what you have to say is really interesting and the more I read you the more prominent your English accent becomes. But then I figure you think you don’t have an accent because it’s me who you think has the accent?

February 28, 2019

@jaythesmartone I do have an accent, but it’s a Scottish one

February 28, 2019

@williamthebloody that is so cool…How long have you lived in London for or do you live in Scotland?

March 2, 2019

@jaythesmartone I live in the North East of England

March 1, 2019

I LOVE Cloud Atlas – I started to say it got me hooked on David Mitchell, but actually I think I read about it, then bought Black Swan Green first because it was on sale. *That* got me hooked. Olivia Colman is brilliant. I have loved her since Peep Show. With that *other* David Mitchell.

February 19, 2020

Hi all if you are interested in reading stories and stories you can visit our website https://zakstory.blogspot.com