Please scream inside your heart

I’ve spent most of this weekend being an idiot.

Yesterday, I decided to make Spanish chicken and rice in my instant pot.  I bought all the ingredients and cooked it.  And I did think there was too much chicken stock.  And it did almost fill the instant pot.  But I thought it would be OK, cooked it, went to release the steam and it started spewing stock everywhere.  The end result wasn’t particularly nice either.  So I had to chuck the whole thing.

Then today, I was trying to make garlic chicken with tomatoes in the slow cooker.  And it filled it slow cooker and I had to use the instant pot.

Then, I realised something.  I had multiplied the amount of stock needed by a factor of 10.  So, for example, instead of making 350ml of stock, I made 3.5 litres.  That was more food thrown out.

Thankfully, I had decided to have another shot at making the Spanish chicken tomorrow, so I had all the ingredients.  I cooked it again and this is the result:

It tasted good, though I might try adding more tumeric next time.  Or possibly putting it into the pot instead of mixing it with the stock.  I’m also going to use red pepper instead of green, but that’s mostly an aesthetic thing that anything else.

Next week, I’m definitely making lime chicken with rice in the slow cooker.  I wanted to this week, but I couldn’t find lime juice when shopping yesterday.  I got some today, so that’ll be dinner next Saturday.

My new additions for the wall of music arrived yesterday.  The first two aren’t actually on the wall.  When Frank Turner played a live stream gig to raise money for The Grand in Clapham, there were a few other people in the gig.  To raise money, they were selling stuff.  Included in that was a signed photocopy of Franks setlist and a signed photocopy of the setlist for Beans on Toast:

At least Beans actually signed that.  The other thing I bought was a poster for the event signed by both Beans and Frank:

In the top left, you’ll see Franks signature.  In the bottom right, you’ll see a distinct lack of Beans signature.  That’s because he got going on the tequila before signing them all…

I’ve pre-ordered the new Philip Pullman HDM novella.  Of course I have.

Will

Log in to write a note
July 12, 2020

Oh my gosh!  The Spanish Chicken and Rice looks so good!  Have you always enjoyed cooking and do you do any baking as well?

July 12, 2020

@wildrose_2 I’ve loved cooking ever since I moved away from home for uni.  I don’t bake, it’s not something I’ve ever been interested in doing

July 12, 2020

@williamthebloody Trying new recipes is fun isn’t it. How about expense?  Do you find it expensive to prepare meals?

July 12, 2020

@wildrose_2 yeah, but it usually does me more than one meal so it works out about the same

July 12, 2020

You have the coolest things and I am sure one day they will be worth millions.  The food you cook sure looks yummy….

July 12, 2020

Sorry about the cooking mishaps. The chicken looks good.

July 13, 2020

Love your idea for the Wall of Sound. I’m trying to find the time/funds to develop a similar idea with posters we have of the Beringer Winery, where we visited when we were dating, and the poster of the Christopher Reeve “Superman” movie that was our first date, and another poster that I’ve been dragging from house to house in the 35 years we’ve been married. I want to prop them up or hang them on the wall over the entertainment unit in the family room, where we spend most evenings, to replace some old baskets full of silk flowers that are there now. I keep the flowers as clean as I can but let’s face it, silk flowers are pretty much 90s decor and it’s probably time to update!

It’s wonderful to hear that someone besides me makes silly mistakes in the kitchen with the wondrous array of gadgets. As my son Ben says, the air fryer is a marvelous invention but it’s not intuitive and it takes some hits-and-misses to get recipes right! The important thing is to keep trying, right?