Some stuff

I have to go visit my old house. My mum sent me a present and put the wrong bloody address on it. I tried earlier on today but got no answer. Despite the fact I’m pretty sure I can see it through the window beside the door.

Tough times in Middlesbrough. One of the biggest employers in the area (and a place that an ex tried to emotionally manipulate me into going back to work at) went bust yesterday. As if it wasn’t hard enough finding a job in this place. Just have to hope the writing thing works out…

Am heading back up home. Not right now, and not for good. My mum is getting her kitchen done up the beginning of July but does not want to take time off to stay in the house while it is happening. (She has been told that she can just leave them in the house on their own, but that’s obviously not happening). So, I’ve volunteered to head home and stay in the house for her. She’s paying my transportation and I quite fancy getting out of Boro anyway.

Current TV obsessions? Glee, Doctor Who, Treme (if you’re not watching that show in particular I want to know why not), Luther and, erm, The Cut (I know, I know).

They’re having a literary festival in Boro next month. I’ve had a quick look on the website to see what I may be interested in going to and one thing is definitely the talk by Graeme Harper. Listen to someone who has directed both old and NuWho? Yes, please. (Though it’s quite amusing to see that they’ve spelt Steel wrong in him biography.)

Pics! As you lot know, I’m taking part in a creative writing class on a Monday night. Last week, I was massively early for class (not by choice I might add, more a case of the best laid plans) and so I wondered round the surrounding area. I found a pond and managed to get some pictures of ducks:

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

And then there’s this one:

photobucket

An ordinary scene in a bar? A normal quiz night? Maybe. Well, until you realise that it’s not music that’s playing but the fire alarm. And it had been for about 10 minutes. Furthest anyone moved was either to the terrace for a smoke or to the toilet.

(It turns out that the smoke machine for the gig upstairs activated the smoke detectors.)

Will
 

photobucket
 

[ writers anonymous logo ]

photobucket

read the printed word!
 

Log in to write a note

What is it about alarms that make people want to ignore them? At work when the fire alarm goes off people just glance at each other and shuffle from foot to foot a bit!

What is it about alarms that make people want to ignore them? At work when the fire alarm goes off people just glance at each other and shuffle from foot to foot a bit!

What is it about alarms that make people want to ignore them? At work when the fire alarm goes off people just glance at each other and shuffle from foot to foot a bit!

What is it about alarms that make people want to ignore them? At work when the fire alarm goes off people just glance at each other and shuffle from foot to foot a bit!

May 18, 2010

I read something about fire alarms recently. People ignore them because they don’t want to be seen as the person who “freaked out”. The article said when fire alarms went off on September 11 people kinda went about closing down computers etc. before making their way out… It’s strange scenario. Don’t even know what Treme is (don’t hate me!) It’s not on here in Aus. 🙂 xo

May 18, 2010

I read something about fire alarms recently. People ignore them because they don’t want to be seen as the person who “freaked out”. The article said when fire alarms went off on September 11 people kinda went about closing down computers etc. before making their way out… It’s strange scenario. Don’t even know what Treme is (don’t hate me!) It’s not on here in Aus. 🙂 xo

May 18, 2010

I read something about fire alarms recently. People ignore them because they don’t want to be seen as the person who “freaked out”. The article said when fire alarms went off on September 11 people kinda went about closing down computers etc. before making their way out… It’s strange scenario. Don’t even know what Treme is (don’t hate me!) It’s not on here in Aus. 🙂 xo

May 18, 2010

I read something about fire alarms recently. People ignore them because they don’t want to be seen as the person who “freaked out”. The article said when fire alarms went off on September 11 people kinda went about closing down computers etc. before making their way out… It’s strange scenario. Don’t even know what Treme is (don’t hate me!) It’s not on here in Aus. 🙂 xo

May 19, 2010

Treme? Can’t say I’ve ever heard of it but you know I’ll be googling it in a minute or two. :o) (Possibly also applies to Luther and The Cut…) I’ve finally started on Glee – watched the first three eps, and whilst all I can think is that they’ve pinched bits from American Pie and Bring It On, it’s kind of fun!

May 19, 2010

Treme? Can’t say I’ve ever heard of it but you know I’ll be googling it in a minute or two. :o) (Possibly also applies to Luther and The Cut…) I’ve finally started on Glee – watched the first three eps, and whilst all I can think is that they’ve pinched bits from American Pie and Bring It On, it’s kind of fun!

May 19, 2010

Treme? Can’t say I’ve ever heard of it but you know I’ll be googling it in a minute or two. :o) (Possibly also applies to Luther and The Cut…) I’ve finally started on Glee – watched the first three eps, and whilst all I can think is that they’ve pinched bits from American Pie and Bring It On, it’s kind of fun!

May 19, 2010

Treme? Can’t say I’ve ever heard of it but you know I’ll be googling it in a minute or two. :o) (Possibly also applies to Luther and The Cut…) I’ve finally started on Glee – watched the first three eps, and whilst all I can think is that they’ve pinched bits from American Pie and Bring It On, it’s kind of fun!