The winning team shall be the first team that wins

Bit of excitement outside the flat today.  Looked out the window and a huge chunk of the street was cordoned off with police tape.  According to the local paper, someone was attacked with a bladed weapon at 9:30 this morning.  By the time I got back from town, the cordon was gone.

Frank Turner released a live album yesterday.  It was not only recorded on the tour I went to see him on in November, it was the actual gig I was at.  Of course I bought it and listening to it (have done twice so far) and it really does bring back great memories.

Plus, it means that the individual songs are on YouTube.  which means I can share this one.  This specific version of this specific song was the most spiritual moment I had last year:

Apart from that, not much is happening really.  I used my instant pot to make spaghetti bolognaise the other day.  Not bad, but still tastes better cooked in the slow cooker.  I’ve also bought an instant pot cookbook, so just waiting for that to come through.

My new steampunk jacket arrived and I’ve had to return it.  Simply because it turns out the large would not fit over my stomach.  So, I’m getting a XXL instead.

My nephew and niece have taken up climbing the trees in their garden.  Which my brother can’t really give them into trouble for, because when he was their age he was constantly climbing trees as well.  Which mum wasn’t bothered by, no matter how much one neighbour told her about it.

I’m currently watching Bustival, a live streaming festival to help Vans for Bands, who are donating their tour busses to the NHS for staff to use.  Great music.

I’ll leave things there.  Stay safe and no injecting Domestos, no matter what anyone says.

Will

Log in to write a note
April 25, 2020

Question? Do you get a lot of world News?  especially from North America?

April 25, 2020

@jaythesmartone through the BBC, yes

April 25, 2020

That is a great song. I loved it. Now I have to go find some more.

April 25, 2020

@gypsywynd I’m more than happy to recommend Frank Turner songs

April 25, 2020

@williamthebloody thanks, I’d appreciate that.

April 26, 2020

@gypsywynd in no particular order, except those which I remember them:

I Still Believe, The Death of Dora Hand, Jinny Bingham’s Ghost, I Knew Prufrock Before He Became Famous, Four Simple Words, Tattoos, There She Is, Be More Kind, Long Live The Queen, If Ever I Stray.

I could go on, but I think that’s a decent mix and more than enough to be going on with

April 27, 2020

@williamthebloody Thanks, I really like his music. I especially like Be More Kind, and There She Is. Make America Great Again was fun. So wasLittleChanges. I’ll definitely be listening to more of him.