Theme of the Week

This weeks theme is: Tell us about a positive influence you had in somebody else’s life.

This is easy for me.  I tend to be the person that others seek out to listen to them and offer advice/hugs/a shoulder to cry on/all of the above.  One of my friends described me as a therapist that cost him just the price of a pint.

Now, this can be a problem for me, because it seems that no-one wants to listen to my problems or think I have it together all the time.  (Which is probably why I started on this site to begin with.)

But it does mean I’ve done a lot to help them.  Whether counselling a friend on his stag night because of a family issue, making a suicidal friend feel better about themselves literally in the time it took to get a pizza delivered or taking my best friend from being in tears because she was overwhelmed to being in fits of laughter, I know I’ve put good out into the world.

And I’m going to use this entry to put out my standing offer: if you have anything you want to get off your chest, feel free to leave a private note.  I am listening.

Will

Log in to write a note
July 10, 2019

You kind of remind me of the Fraser Show with Kelsey Grammar He plays a psychiatrist and always says “I am Listening”

July 10, 2019

You’re sweet!

M
July 15, 2019

Thanks, Will.

July 21, 2019

This is me, exactly. I listen to every one else, but, when it comes to listening to me, well, nobody is around or I don’t want to burden people.

It’s so much easier to pay someone to listen to me.