To live the way we please

I’m currently listening to a radio programme playing TV themes which is airing as a tribute to Paul O’Grady, who died this week.  I remember going to see O’Grady as Lily Savage when I went to Blackpool with an ex decades ago.  Absolutely fucking hilarious.  More recently, my mum would always watch his 5 o clock show when he did that and, of course, his shows about dogs.  More recently still, I discovered his radio show during lockdown, before he was shafted out of it by the BBC.  He will be missed.

I got a new washing machine this week.

I kinda needed it.  The drainage pipe on the old one split and it pissed water everywhere.  This one is bigger, which is both a blessing and a curse, and quicker, as I don’t have to bother with wash-spin-rinse-dry, just wash then dry.  The main thing I like is that it actually has a pump for draining, so I don’t have to raise it off the ground or use buckets, just straight into the sink it goes.

I was supposed to get it on Tuesday, but it never arrived.  Tuesday was a bad day in general for me.  I was supposed to have a job interview, but it never happened.  I got there on time and they left me sitting waiting for 20 minutes before someone came to get me (and even that because someone else phoned and reminded me I was there).  They sat me in the break room and told me it’d be about 10 minutes.  25 minutes later, I was heading out the door, because fuck that.

Which leaves me wondering, do companies like that not realise that as much as I’m interviewing for them, they’re also trying to prove they are a good place to work?  How on earth could they possibly think that looked good or professional?

Anyway…

I’m going to the Sci-Fi Weekender next year.  I won tickets in a competition and have paid the booking fee and the deposit for the caravan.  All I need to do now is get my VIP pass.  Much looking forward to it already.

Also finished the baseball cap:

It’s supposed to be a daffodil.  Not sure if it looks like that, but I like it anyway.

I’ve started on my Death of Rats kit.

Will

Log in to write a note
April 2, 2023

At first I thought it was a sunflower, but on closer inspection, I can see daffodil.

That was not a very professional way to (not) conduct an interview. I wouldn’t want to work there.