Where the needle went in *EDIT*

The full picture.

Food!

Last Saturday, I made Lime Chicken with Rise in the slow cooker:

It wasn’t too bad. I’m not sure if I’m going to use less butter, more lime juice or both nest time because it tasted too much of the former and too little of the latter.

Sunday, hey Jambalaya!

This was done in the instant pot and it tasted good. Next time, I’m going to spice it up a bit and try and get shrimp instead of king prawns (not a bad substitute, by the way).

Monday was parmo day. Normally, I just get this from a takeaway shop, but there’s a butcher near me that’s started selling kits to make it at home:

The chicken could do with flattening out a bit, but beyond that, it’s good.

Wednesday was Chicken Florentine in the instant pot:

This recipe has been deleted. It was aggressively bland. And I can’t think of what to add to change that.

Yesterday was Chicken and Rice in the instant pot:

First of all, I’m not using chicken breast for this again as shredding it was a fucking nightmare. I’ll use the diced chicken instead. I’ll also add more paprika and possibly some chilli flakes to spice it up.

Today I’m going to make the Garlic Chicken again. This time with the right amount of chicken stock.

I also got myself a new garlic press. This one you rock over the garlic to crush it. It’s really good. Much easier to use and to clean. Plus, it came with a thing for peeling the garlic, which makes life a lot smoother.

I’ve just had to order rechargeable AAA batteries. I signed up for Now TV and got the stick that plugs into my telly. But, the remote eats batteries (the new batteries I put in on Thursday are now at about 40%). So, the rechargeable ones seem like a good investment.

I got myself two new books. One is I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reed. This came to my attention because Charlie Kaufman has adapted it for Netflix and I’m a huge fan. The other is Parkland by Dave Cullen. He wrote a book about Columbine, but this one was the more interesting to me.

And that’s about it.

Well, except the new ink.

Yup, yesterday was tattoo day. It took about two hours, but I’m very, very pleased with the results:

It really is much better than I thought it would be.

Will

*EDIT* at the request of @GypsyWynd, here’s the garlic press:

Log in to write a note
July 26, 2020

Nice tattoo! What does it mean?

July 26, 2020

@darkmadonna it’s my clan crest

July 26, 2020

Question? Would you rather be in the kitchen or at a book store? or both?  From what I have seen here you seem to be the great cook…the things you create look so yummy….Maybe some time you can share the recipes?  But I don’t have an instant pot so i would have to create these goodies the old fashioned way if that is possible?

And that ink looks awesome.

July 26, 2020

Nice tattoo!

Would like to see a pic of your new garlic press (I’m a kitchen gadget junkie)

 

July 26, 2020

@gypsywynd check the edit

July 26, 2020

@williamthebloody Brilliant!! Thanks!! I usually smash it with a knife, but this looks neater.

July 26, 2020

Very nice crest! McGregor here!

July 26, 2020

nice  tattoo