Writing stuff

I’ve got five weeks left of my creative writing class. It’s not on next Monday (due to the bank holiday) and then five weeks left. The class will be running again after summer, so I’m trying to decide if I’m going to go back. I probably will. It’s quite a good laugh, I’m writing regularly and I get good, constant feedback on my stuff.

Speaking of which, each week we get homework and the following week we read out what we wrote for the previous week in class. Everyone loved the piece I read out, to the point where I thought I was not going to be able to leave the class due to my new head size. Which was a surprise to me, cos I thought it was OK but not spectacular.

It also got a fair few laughs, which is always a surprise for me. I don’t think I can write comedy, or at least I know I can’t write comedy comedy (y’know here’s the set up, here’s the punchline, here’s the set up, here’s the punchline…) so that was a nice surprise.

(If anyone wants to read it BTW drop me a note and I’ll send it to you.)

I just can’t wait to go back and find out what my tutor thought about the Red Riding Hood story I wrote (it was for homework, but for one of the weeks I missed. I just felt like writing it) that you lot can see <—thataway<—

What else? Still writing for TTZ. Need to get my review of The Beast Below written and I believe I also said I would write a review of K9 and Company for the next issue as well. Which means I have to watch it. Last time I tried to, I was slightly drunk and still could not make it past 15 minutes, so FSM alone knows what I’ll make of it sober. I also have to write my long in gestation piece about time travel, causality and the Doctor (which will get very interesting based on some stuff the Doctor has said in the new series) as well as another one about people reading too much into the slightest little things that appear.

And I’m currently re-watching Life on Mars as preparation to write an article for the as-yet unnamed Ashes to Ashes fanzine (still like the name Luigi’s Arms, especially after the last A2A episode). That one, in light of events at the end of both shows, will be slightly amended but it’ll still work.

Should hear back in the next few days about the crime writing comp I entered, so keep your fingers crossed for me with that one. I’ve just submitted something for another competition that I was planning to enter. And this morning, while waiting for the post (my Rage Factor ticket was sent out yesterday so I was waiting to see if it would arrive) I wrote something for yet another competition I’m entering. If anyone would like to read that and give me feedback, let me know.

Finally, I’m thinking about applying for a job reviewing films for a new world film website. Might have to get in touch to see if they are paying anything. Or I may just go for it.

And that’s about it, I think.

Well, apart from writing in here as well. And possibly actually remembering to write notes (I’ve been shit at that lately, sorry).

Will
 

photobucket
 

[ writers anonymous logo ]

photobucket

read the printed word!
 

Log in to write a note
May 26, 2010

What film website? Wow, most of your output is stuff for my mags!

May 26, 2010

What film website? Wow, most of your output is stuff for my mags!

May 26, 2010

What film website? Wow, most of your output is stuff for my mags!

May 26, 2010

What film website? Wow, most of your output is stuff for my mags!

May 27, 2010

I am very happy with my entry for YOC this month. Sticking it up at the weekend.

May 27, 2010

I am very happy with my entry for YOC this month. Sticking it up at the weekend.

May 27, 2010

I am very happy with my entry for YOC this month. Sticking it up at the weekend.

May 27, 2010

I am very happy with my entry for YOC this month. Sticking it up at the weekend.

May 28, 2010

Yay, crime writing! I love crime.

May 28, 2010

Yay, crime writing! I love crime.

May 28, 2010

Yay, crime writing! I love crime.

May 28, 2010

Yay, crime writing! I love crime.

May 28, 2010

RYN: Please forgive me for asking, but I haven’t heard of Ashes to Ashes. Is it as good as the Torchwood mini-series I’m watching on Netflix? Sorry. Yank.

May 28, 2010

RYN: Please forgive me for asking, but I haven’t heard of Ashes to Ashes. Is it as good as the Torchwood mini-series I’m watching on Netflix? Sorry. Yank.

May 28, 2010

RYN: Please forgive me for asking, but I haven’t heard of Ashes to Ashes. Is it as good as the Torchwood mini-series I’m watching on Netflix? Sorry. Yank.

May 28, 2010

RYN: Please forgive me for asking, but I haven’t heard of Ashes to Ashes. Is it as good as the Torchwood mini-series I’m watching on Netflix? Sorry. Yank.