Finally a Happy New Year 2011 – Goodbye to 2010

10:12am
I actually have Mary, a babysitter/Roy’s old friend, watching Robert while I get a moment to myself.  I really have been overwhelmed lately (seems as usual).  I can’t seem to get enough done in 1 day.  I have SO MUCH on my to do list, I find myself not even knowing where to start during the day.  Our daily walk seems to be over.  I’ve been sick, or it’s been too cold, or Robert has school…  THAT has really taken away our walking time.  I’ll have to reconcider next year.  But maybe it’s my medicine. 
I’m going to rethink this medication.  I don’t feel physically as strong.  I feel calmer inside when the shit hits the fan, but on an everyday basis I’m all business all the time now.  I don’t remem ber it being this bad before.  NEVER being able to take time to relax or just PLAY with Robert.  Lately, my to do list is out of control.  and I don’t even deal with Dylan anymore.  He hardly comes over. 

I just wanted to jot down some recent memories as to never forget them.  Just some quick "shorts!"

"STEPPED ON A MOUSE AND A RAT IN THE HOUSE"
Yup, pretty much says it all.  Except the dirty details.  So, it’s one night after I worked a few weeks ago.  I’m JUST about to steal a few moments with my husband down in his shop (it’s 11:15pm and Robert  is still up watching a show).  I go into my room and slip on one of my faux UGG boots and my heel lands on something soft and fuzzy and WARM (not typical of sheepskin inner lining).  I SCREAMED so loud I’m suprised noone called the cops!!  I yanked my foot (right one) out of that boot so fast!!  Roy came upstairs and inside and I told him there is something in my boot (my boot is black and it was still kinda dark in the room).  He shook the boot upside down (int the house no less) and nothing came out.  "there’s nothing in there" he said.  "YES there is!!"  I suggest he shake it out OUTSIDE and so he tries real hard to shake it out right over the concrete stairs going down.  "HEY" I shout, "how ’bout somewhere he won’t have to take a fall down some stairs, right after I just stepped on him!!  Plus he’s in there clinging for all his life right now!!"  So we ultimately decided to leave the boot outside for the night.   The next day he was gone!!

I swear it wasn’t more than 15 min. later or so, when Lou came in the house with a big huge rat in his mouth!  (I GUESS it could be what was in my boot, but I thought that one was smaller…)  THEN he just drops it off and it scurries into my bedroom under the head of my bed!!  GREAT.  Now it’s like 11:30 or later, I have to be up the next morning for work at 5am…  Yeah.  It was a fantastically wonderful night.  (not)

"I HIT ROY WITH STINKY CATFOOD"
Good title, I must say.  See, we throw all "wet" food trash out our kitchen window so it can land in no man’s land outside and dry up and get raked away later (or it just composts out there.)  It’s because we live on a septic system and it also helps out the nature around us (lots of little wildlife live off of our scraps. 
Well, as the title suggests, one day not that long ago, I whipped open the kitchen window as I usually do and quicker than anything threw out the old, stinky catfood…  "UGH!" I heard from outside!!  Oh no!!  "… Roy??…" I sheepishly asked.  "Uh huh…" he miserably replied.  SO GROSS!!!!  YUKKK!!!  What do I say?!  "…Sorry, Hon!" 
SO GROSS!!  (he was real nice about it considering….)  🙂

"ROBERT’S FIRST OVERNIGHT STAY"
Yes!!!  On 12/910 I was supposed to go to the Christmas Party for my work.  I actually, was coming down with URI symptoms and decided ultimately not to go to my work party, and to just go out with Roy instead.  We had already arranged for Annie to watch Robert in our rental unit!!  So if he did have any issues, I could just run up the hill to get him. 
I got my haircut that day in anticipation of the work party.  I got it cut shorter than it’s been in a long time!!  I love it!!  🙂
I got my nails done first (purple with purple sparkles).  I was ready for a night out. 
I took Robert up the hill and was a little stressed to be leaving him for an overnight.  He was so NOT stressed, he kept raising his hand in a "bye bye" wave and said, "GOOD BYE MOM".  Sheesh.  Guess he wanted me to GO!!
So Roy and I went to OB (but he did try to convince me to stick around town!)  We ended up at a LOVELY resaurant called Nick’s At the Pier.  It was very foggy out that evening and we could hardly see the ocean or the pier that was right outside our window seat.  But it was a GREAT fish dinner and we enjoyed it very much.  Afterwards, we got to have a few moments in the car to ourselves!  I took a couple of cool shots (maybe I can put them in here!!)
We came home and got to try Roy’s research project.  (more about THAT later – and privately, I’m sure!!)  *wink wink*
We sure had a great night. 
Nick’s at the Pier is our special restaurant, now!! 
I picked Robert up in the morning, and, as usual, had to drag him out of there, kicking and screaming!!  What fun!

"TWILIGHT SAGA FAN"
OK, it’s true.  I got sucked into the Twilight series of books and I read all four.  What delicious eye/brain candy!!  I needed that!!  The books are so easy to read, and the characters so addicting.  I enjoyed the last book most of all, but have to say, "THANK YOU, STEPHANIE MEYER, FOR THE WONDERFUL STORIES!!"  Then I got to watch the movies, one by one.  I own the first 3 now, and can’t wait for the final movie to come out.  It’s just a matter of time…

"HOUSE CLUB MIX 2010"
I have always done some recording of music – usually off the radio.  I end up with a mix from time to time, that I enjoy so much, I listen to it over and over for years, sometimes.  So, this past Labor Day weekend, I decided to make a new collection of recordings.  (since the last one I put together was Labor Day 2004, I believe).  I ended up with some great dance songs.  The tape I was using (old school, I know) was not done very well, and actually was recorded off a radio that didn’t work real well, so the speed of the recording is on and off again.  When I realized the problem I decided to finally buy the individual songs off Amazon.com.  I have, now about 24 songs, and only approx 20 can fit on a cd.  So I’ve revised and revised 3 times total.  I thought I had my final revision, and then I remembered a song that I wanted in there, and heard a NEW song, so now I need one more revision. 
I was really into this whole CD.  I call it the House Club Mix, cuz you listen to it while your cleaning your HOUSE, and wish you were dancing in a CLUB!!  I have friends and my sister that want copies, so I’ll finish it up and get stuff on the way!!
THEN I plan to do the same for my 2 othere compilations done years ago.  I can’t wait to get them all on CD (and MP3!) 

Log in to write a note