Pulled Over x2/Won Matisyahu & Jimmy Cliff tickets

4:24pm
Since I never really feel like I get to update on MYSELF, I thought I’d do a super quick entry!
So, I got pulled over right by our house a few weeks ago, and I didn’t know why.  The lights just appeared behind me, it seemed, and in a VERY intimidating manner.  It seemed the cop car was really bearing down on me.  When the officers approaced my car (around8:30pm) they used flashlights in my mirrors, so I couldn’t really see who was approaching.  Then they used those horrible flashlights to shine around my car while informing me that I have a headlight that is out.  And did I know it was out?  No, I didn’t know.  So, I got a fix it ticket only!!  (I was suprised they didn’t write up my windshield which has a LONG crack extending from the passenger outer edge, almost to the middle of the windshield.  Maybe it covers more like 3/5ths of the passenger portion of the window.  They didn’t mention it.  So I skate on getting another windshield for a bit longer.  I do need to get my headlight ticket signed off, as Roy did the replacing of the bulbs for me.
The SECOND incident was a bit scarier.  I was actually on and off doing 100+ miles per hour on the way to work one, lovely Sunday morning.  I was running late, but due to decreased traffic on a Sunday, I was REALLY making some good time!! ðŸ˜‰  I even SAW a cop car on the freeway right when I got on and I slowed down quickly, and he didn’t catch that screw up.  PART of my brain told me that was a foreshadowing of what could have happened… but, did I LISTEN to my brain???  Heck no!!  I went with getting to work on time or early!!  So ALL THE SUDDEN (again) the lights seemed to just appear behind me out of nowhere!!  Red and blues again!  THIS guy didn’t just have me pull over.  He had me EXIT the freeway and then pull into a gas station.  My guess is he was getting ready to haul me in!!  When he came to the window he saw me in my uniform, with my RN badge prominently displayed.  THIS time it mattered!  He asked if I was late to work, and I said, "Yeah, and I ALMOLST made it!!"  He looked at me, and with a twinkle in his eye, said he was going to let me off with a warning…  THEN he told me that he very RARELY does this kind of thing!!  I could tell he meant it!  I was SO LUCKY!!  DAng

THEN, my luck continues.  On Wednesday, I had a playdate for Robert with his friend Bobby and his mom, Penina.  She’s someone I met thru Shalom Baby (JCC).  It was an early enough date (around 9:30am).  But right before I arrived at the rec center area, Robert fell fast asleep.  I like to let him sleep around 30 min. if I can, at least.  so I was just chillin in the car, and I was going thru my radio station routine.  (where I flip from station to station until I find a song I like).  I landed on 91X and wouldn’t you know it, he mentions that he’ll be giving away tickets to see Matisyahu and Jimmy Cliff in 10 min.  Yeah!  I figured that I could let Robert nap, and would try to win tickets in the meantime.  I got on my phone and onto the internet and I found out the phone number to call to contact 91X.  I programed it into my contacts and so I would be ready when he annonced he was giving away tickets.  Then Penina called to say she was there at the rec center/park/parking lot.  So I shut off the car and went over to hers to tell her that Robert was asleep.  I said I was kinda trying to win tickets to a show on the radio.  She and Bobby decided to head into the rec center gym where his tumbling class was to take place.   I went back into the car and turned on the radio JUST in time to hear the announcer say, "I’ll give them away right now…caller #9 will win tickets!"  and that was that!  I started dialing, hanging up and redialing over and over again.  Meanwhile a couple of guys in a truck parked by my car were talking about some cool TV show.  The show is called What Would You Do?  and one guy was explaining an episode where someone layed in the middle of the sidewalk and over 80 people stepped over this (apparently unconcsious) person and went about their way.  finally one person stopped to see if he needed help.  While I’m listening to his story, I’m still redialing.  Then it rang!  I had to do a double take and look at my phone to make sure I was still dialing the right place!  I was – it said 91X radio.  Then quicker than anything a guy answered and said, "You’re caller number 9, would you like these tickets?"  I couldn’t believe it!!  So I won tickets to the Del Mar Fairgrounds concert featuring Matisyahu and Jimmy Cliff!!  I had to go pick up the tickets later that day, or I would have missed out on picking them up at all, as I had to work Thursday and Friday and the show was on Saturday (yesterday) 

It was a great show.  I took videos of Jimmy and of Matis.  Robert had a good time.  Holding him was a lot harder this time than last year!!  My arm (left) still is hurting from holding him so much.  He really wouldn’t relax at any point in time in his stroller.  WEll.  For a moment or two at the most.  But we had fun.  I brought a cooler with Subway Sandwiches, and waters, and ice creams, and cookies.  We were set. I’d like to post a video or two on You Tube of some of the show.  So let me see if I can.

Log in to write a note