Robert’s Birthday Party/My First Party

11:36pm
I finally did it and had a party for Robert’s 2nd birthday!!  (only 1 month and 1 week late!!)  I had it at the YMCA at the Toddler pool.  It turned out pretty good, actually.  They gave us a shaded area with tables and chairs (plenty) and the Toddler pool was open from 12-2pm.  It was also opened to the public, but, that’s the breaks!! 
so, I did all my invitations by "EVITE" and it was really easy stuff.  Of course I screwed up the first card I sent out, but that’s just me!!  I had the wrong date on it! 
People who came to the party: Roy and Dylan, My neighbor Jen and her 3 kids, our tenant Anne and her 2 kids, a co-worker named Sarah, and her hubby and 3 kids, Penina and her boy, Bobby, and some new folks that I met thru the Pediatrician I work with.  A military guy, Philip, and his 2  yr old, plus Philip’s Dad, and Philips Girlfriend.  The 2 yr old’s Mom passed away about 6 months ago.  When I appologized for his loss, Philip replied that it was ok, and his detachment from it kinda suprised me.  But then he explained that she was cheating on him and that they were going thru a divorce when it happened, and I guess I understand why he seemed…detached!!  He said that G-d has a plan for everyone. His plans changed when she died as he became a single parent and so he moved back to SD from South Carolina, so he could raise his son.  Then they gave him a cush job right here on the nearby island.  Nice.  I’m glad that they came and maybe I’ll be able to take Robert to the island to have a playdate with Philips son Caleb.   (and did I mention that the military guy was HOT HOT HOT?!) 
Anyway.  At one point I noticed that Ray came with Kaylee, but I didnt’ see Kimmy at all.  "She had 3 baby showers to go to all over town, " Ray explained.  Hmmmmm….  "That’s funny, I just talked to her and she didn’t mention it…" is what I replied back and then Ray didn’t say anything.  Kimmy is SO WEIRD sometimes.  Why does she make plans with me and break them as much as humanly possible?!  It’s just getting bizarre now.  I mean, I guess Ray was pretty steamed that he had to drop everything to bring Kaylee to the party – Roy said he was there swearing, etc.  But I didn’t hear/see any of it.   Hopefully no one else did either.  He was friendly and pleasant with me though.
Because the kids basically only had eyes for the pool, there wasn’t much socializing that I got to do during the party.  Thank G-d for Roy, as he manned the tables and took care of that stuff, while I took Robert to the pool.   Robert!!  My Goodness!!  He figured out how to unlatch the gate to the pool and he KEPT breaking into the pool area and I’d have to dash thru the gate to go rescue him from himself!!  The weird thing is, no lifeguard ever noticed or responded.  There was a pretty big turnout from the public with the toddler pool, so I know the lifeguards had a lot on their plates with watching everyone.  But sheesh, you’d think someone would have been watching us at our party.  There was one pretty lifeguard, named Amy, who helped a tiny bit in the beginning, and then I never saw her back at our party again.  I only got word from Roy while we were in the water that we had to be all cleaned up by 2:15pm!!  and it was probably a quarter till when we got that message. 
But let me back up.  Robert got to wear a personal floatation device from the YMCA and he LOVED it!!  He kept it on in the water the whole time and it gave him just a tiny bit more independence.  I still had to rescue him from water hitting his face, etc.  but he never cried or fussed.  He had a BLAST.  Dylan hung out with him much of the time, and they really had fun together.  Every once in a while, we’d come across some guests from our party in the pool!!  It was funny, cuz we didn’t see much of our party while in the pool.  It was  pretty busy there.
We took a quick break to come in and eat and have cake (cupcakes).  The military man and his family had to leave to go to another party, but he left his number so we can hook up sometime in his neck of the woods (sounds totally fun!)  So I had Robert blow out his candle (on his underwater scene – BLUE – cake made out of cupcakes – some white and some chocolate – all of them with BLUE buttercream frosting.  YUM YUM YUM!!  Vons makes such good stuff!!)  He had fun licking the icing off the candle and then eating his cupcake with his Dad’s help. 
I served Pizza (from Costco), fruit platters (from Costco!!), Chips (yup), Dip, veggies, and drinks – soda (pepsi and mountain dew), juice boxes for the kids, and waters.  I think everyone that wanted food got to eat, and I even overheard someone say how good Costco pizzas are!!  (and they really are to me too)
The kids were having so much fun that we returned to the pool when the cupcake moment was over.  Robert found a steering wheel that he could turn to squirt water out of a pipe with holes up it, and he stayed there a lot just playing and playing with Dylan.  In fact, I saw his lips shivering and noticed the purple tint to them, but he REFUSED to get out!!  He went down the slide into the water multiple times, and he really showed me how he’s improving in the water.  I think I’ll get him enrolled in swim lessons next.
Ray and Kaylee left early, so I hardly saw them at all!!  But at least she came, huh?
I had made party favor packages for the guests to take home, and luckily I made enough.  In fact there were a few that remained after hte party was over.  Believe me I have some returns!!
OK, I’m so glad I got a chance to journal about his party.  Did I mention that I got him 3 mylar balloons that he loved?  They’er on the ceiling in front of me right now!!
I wanted to journal about Robert’s development, and where he’s at in his tumbling class and everythiing, but my eyes are blurring and won’t stay open!!  So more later – and hopefully some pics too!

Log in to write a note
June 21, 2010

Hey. Sounds like you had a busy time! Can’t wait to have kids of my own and do the whole birthday party them. And yeah, I did get a lot of comments/responses on my little rant. Most of them good though lol. I did try to comment back to everyone, but I lost track of who I’d already written and who I hadn’t lol. Anyway, hope all is well 🙂