A friend…

Odd odd question.  What qualities are important in a close friend?  It so depends.  There are a lot of ways of being and of having friends.   I come across old friends, close friends here.  I think of the time that’s gone and won’t come back.  I think of who matters and who doesn’t.  I rue those – the great majority – that are gone forever.  Those of us here are rats climbing back on the flotsam.  I’m here.  She’s here.  You’re here.

 

So who’s my friend?  In real life I have few if any friends.  I do not draw people.  I am too stuck up a the same time I’m inferior.  I’m that way on line and I have few if any friends on line.  I like to think of myself as special and I want you to be special too.  Not too special but special enough.  I want you special in ways that  lean toward love and words and embarrassments.  I want loyalty – like the Pres.  I don’t expect it though.  Loyalty is the hardest virtue.  We don’t get it, we don’t give it.  Yet we want it.

So that’s 2 things.

Specialness and loyalty.

 

There has to be a third thing.  There is always a third thing.  An internet connection?  A lot of dogs?  Shared Updike fandom?  Maybe.  Maybe not.  Let’s call it the Unknown Third Thing.

 

Yes that will do it.

 

Specialness.

Loyalty.

The Unknown Third Thing.

 

Log in to write a note
June 18, 2018

I love this idea of the mysterious, unknown, third thing… Nice milkweed photo as well!

June 18, 2018

<3

June 19, 2018

“The Unknown Third Thing.”

can the unknown thing be special?, or does that disqualify it…

friendship is hard for me to qualify, i’ll befriend almost anyone, and they bind that friendship with honesty(not moral honesty, honesty of vision), and loyalty of spirit, and these things are very complex to define easily,   but you know them like the sun on your face when they come,.

i tend to hold people accountable to their own true self, and expect them to do the same to me,.

heh, windy or what,.

 

 

 

 

June 20, 2018

This is what I want my surroundings to look like. I aspire to no grass, though the county would take exception, and so would the neighbors.

Good friends will protect you. Best friends help you bury the body.

It is mysterious how friends are friends. I think there are shared values, but not  all, and not always. I think that friends really do accept your shortcomings, having seen them in all their glory.  They still like you and embrace you, both in spite and because of them.