Gracie is boss (and out of focus)

This is an old picture.  I thought it was me that Gracie was sitting on, but it’s not.  But the hair isn’t gray enough, she’s too thin and she’s wearing glasses.  It’s my old friend who came to visit a couple years ago.

My photo taking and displaying abilities and effort (mainly) are at a really low ebb.  I just have a few to show you and they come up almost at random.

Not sure how I got so lazy.  So fat.  So old.  I think some of it has to do with the passage of time.  But that also an excuse.  Oh wait, some of it has to do with having a new computer that works.  Oh.  My.  My life is just full of excuses.  Yup.  That’s the ticket.  Excuses.

Now that that’s cleared up I can move on.

====

I was going to talk about carbs.  Bread to be specific.   I was into counting carbs for a few weeks.  My goal was 30 grams a day.  I would have eggs and milk and coffee and meat and cabbage and lettuce and I forget what else.  Cheese.  A lot of cheese.  No bread, half a small potato some days, no pasta, one piece of pizza some days, two pieces of fruit, an apple and a banana most days.  That was it mainly.  I also went back to diet pop.

I’m not sure how effective a diet it was.  I mean if I stuck to it I would lose a pound or half.  I had resurrected my old broken digital scale from the porch – it started working again.  I was keeping a paper diary with one page per day, recording what I ate and what I weighed.

Then – you know what happened.  I started cheating a little.  Then cheating more until pretty soon all I had left from my regimen was the diet pop.

Yesterday was a really champion of a day.  I drank my coffee and milk and took my pills with one peanut butter and French jam sandwich – cut in four pieces to make it last longer.

Note: someone trying to gain weight to get into the military did it by eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and drinking whole milk.  I can believe it.

Anyway, yesterday  I ended up going out to eat.  I was really hungry (after my ONE peanut butter and jam sandwich) and I was looking for something new to eat.  They had an appetizer of bacon jam and some semi-exotic cheese on some kiknd of semi-exotic bread.  To encourage them in their search for new things, I ordered it.  Then they bought a bread basket.  Place has really nice bread.  And I ate a fair amount of the bread in the basket.  To be fair to myself, I also got a relish tray, also a new item on the menu, that came with carrots, celery, radishes, olives, pickles, hot peppers and a tasty dill dip.  And the bacon jammy things were taste too.  I was surprised I didn’t have any left to bring home to Gracie.

As I write this, the black cat is trying to be friendly.  She is more secure since we only have one dog and it’s outside.

====

Guess that’s all for now.

Have a good day everyone.

Be kind to humans and animals too.

Log in to write a note
April 3, 2018

Ahh food. Yummy forbidden food. Sigh. Must wheat be so evil??

April 3, 2018

Bread. Such a temptress. I’m trying like crazy to lose weight before I keel over from a heart attack. Also lo carb. I’m drinking those meal replacement ‘shakes’. Also a protein and tons of greens/sauteed vegetables. Hot broth with some lime juice is delicious but has too much sodium.

April 3, 2018

That relish tray though. I could bathe in such a relish bath. Also, anything with exotic cheese is a win in my book.

 

Sitting at the coffee shop now (one most famous for it’s vulva cupcakes, recently gone “viral”) , and having the world’s greatest home fries and a grilled pb and j.) Coincidences.

April 3, 2018

Gracie is cute!

April 4, 2018

sad to think you consider yourself too old and too fat….I think you are an amazing person. Aging is a privilege and weight is all about perspective.  hugs and smiles p

April 4, 2018

@gypsyspirit You”re right of course.  But.  Just now I was looking through old entries from really not that long ago – 2012 – and I was much more active and alive and I accomplished so much more then.  I’m hoping my present state is temporary – well everything is temporary of course.  I hope I can get livelier and busier and get so I’m doing more.  I’m not sure what I need.  What kind of discipline.

You my friend are generally happy and I admire that in you.   I know your life is not perfect but I think you have a better attitude than I do.  Maybe I can improve my attitude.  What do you think?