Old stuff, do you remember?

Actually it’s only a few years old.  A friend and I went to one of those paint what they tell you to paint thingies, and this is what I painted.  We got there late and had a drink  – there is a connection there.  The other people had their green grass all painted and we had to catch up.  We were quite confident and painted away and had it done in a few minutes.

I wouldn’t have chosen yellow sky and pink trees myself, but I kind of liked how it turned out.  I have not been tempted to go back to the paint what they tell place though.  I might do it if the company was right.

 

It’s Sunday evening.  Another gray cold day.  Spring, with pink trees or otherwise, is late getting here this year.

We are having baby calves.  Not perfect weather but then it never is.  You gotta trust in the mother / child relationship and in Jim’s wise and careful intervention.  The last few years he’s had a calf toaster.  That’s what he calls it.  It’s a cabinet-like thing that warms and dries new born calves when the calf is having a hard time getting started.  He leaves them in for a few hours, maybe overnight sometimes.  He feeds them colostrum and/or electrolytes and they usually do well when they are returned to their mothers.  The great majority of calves don’t need extra treatment and there are always a few beyond help.  The calf toaster means I don’t have calves in the bathtub anymore.

Calf season is a rough time of year, yet rewarding at the same time.

 

I spent time last night looking at my old entries here.  I am just so happy to have them back.  I hadn’t really expected to see them but I’d held out hope.  Some of the pictures and stories and notes you left are just so good,  they make me smile to think of them.   Bringing back the years is a gift.  Ty, DM.

 

Log in to write a note
April 8, 2018

I like the picture. And I would like one of the calf toaster, too.

April 8, 2018

Lovely painting.  Lovely indeed.  Yes, I would imagine it is a wonderful gift to have your old entries back.  And yes, thank you to the DiaryMaster.

April 9, 2018

I remember.

April 9, 2018

Your artwork is fine just as it is. Perfect in fact.

April 11, 2018

I wonder if leaving a calf in the toaster will make it give chocolate milk? 🤣

April 11, 2018

Ooop… Leaving it in the toaster too long is what I meant….