Strength

We used to have a family saying – and maybe still do.

 

The only sin is quitting.

 

It meant you stayed married.

It meant you went to work every day.

It meant you finished school.

It meant you finished probation.

It meant you didn’t borrow money if you could avoid it.

It meant you paid it back.

It meant you took long walks.

It meant you read books that matter.

It meant you raised your kids

It meant you took care of your parents.

It meant you did what was expected of you.

 

It meant you didn’t quit.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 17, 2018

I wish some of those values were still around. Especially respect for self and others

April 17, 2018

Those are good values. Mostly. I hope they still exist.

April 18, 2018

interesting…..not quitting to me is about giving something your best shot  but also acknowledging your own human limitations.  Sometimes we have to remember we are fallible beings.   smiles p

April 19, 2018

I miss those values.

April 20, 2018

Yes, yes, and yes!

April 22, 2018

Everyone has their own stopping point.  Generally speaking, you’re mostly right.

April 24, 2018

I don’t regret having married at all, but I don’t regret for one minute having the courage to understand that divorce was the best option for me.  I thank my parents for instilling in me the courage of my convictions, to make my own decisions. And I mostly lived up to my real and perceived obligations.

April 27, 2018

I left both my husbands r/t their infidelities…the 2nd one I even thought of staying anyways but he didn’t want for me to stay, he couldn’t afford a divorce…I made him file against me by saying I would withdraw my filing.  The marriage was over.  Trust was over in both.  I felt like a failure each time.  Now I refuse to get married to any boyfriend, just not worth the pain of another failure.

April 28, 2018

@nativewoman I’m sorry.  I realized when I wrote this that everyone’s circumstances are different.  For many, leaving a marriage can be the right thing to do.  And I know it’s hard to do it.

I so much enjoyed reading about your life.  I remember that we felt like sisters -that is a rare thing for me.  Are you writing now?  When I try to follow you home I get a message saying I can’t access your diary.