so who the heck am I

So after spending a couple of years on my husband’s DNA/ancestry stuff, I finally began to research my own family.  There were a lot of empty spaces and I began to fill them in.  Unfortunately, as I began to truly investigate, I discovered the most glaring piece of information.  At first, I thought the lack of my father’s relatives on my DNA matches on Ancestry.com was maybe in part that no one had done a DNA test.  I just thought my cousins just hadn’t done the test.  And I never bothered to look at the 2nd/3rd cousin, and so on down the line.  But I did notice the same last name on 1st/2nd cousins but I didn’t recognize the name.  Sooooo, after a comment my brother made about him and mom living in a house with a person of that same unusual name, I began to diligently search for records.  And I came up with a marriage certificate between my mom and this individual.  And that led me to the realization that my father wasn’t the man I grew up thinking was my father, but this guy my mom married before my dad.  I’m guessing my mom was having an affair and when she got pregnant, she either got caught or just left Husband A for Affair Guy B.  And when I was born, everyone assumed I was Affair Guy B’s child.  Or Affair Guy B knew I wasn’t his birth child, but didn’t care.  I will never know since all of these people have died.  So, I’m not who I thought I was.  I don’t feel too bad.  I didn’t have a horrible childhood.  But a part of me would like to have known my real father and my grandparents, etc.  So now the only way I’ll get to know my birth father is through second-hand information.  Never a dull moment in my life.

Log in to write a note
January 22, 2022

Does it really matter whose blood runs through your veins?

I grew up barely knowing my biological family and yes I have wondered about their history and health and just stuff to figure myself out more too, but in all honesty I don’t think it really matters. I believe our lives are based on our personal choices, God’s plan and the people we choose to be around and not because of what our biological make up is made of.

You might not know who you are, but I hope that isn’t because you don’t know who your biological father is and his biological history. Cuz if that is true then I guess I am living a totally screwed up life believing something wrong and I am just going to be confused for the rest of my days.

February 9, 2022

My friend who was adopted found his birth mother and father via 23 and me. I remember when he was doing it I told him, “I don’t know if you want to open that biological pandora’s box.” I mean, I know who my family is and most days I’d like to go to Switzerland for family-bypass surgery.