Stealing

I’m sure a lot of people have stolen something in their life.  For many, it was a rite of passage to shoplift something during middle school/high school.  I didn’t shoplift.  But I can remember stealing something.  I must have been about 4 or 5 years old.  My mother and I were at a friend’s house.  The friend had a jewelry box with lots of jewels glued on the top and I thought it was the most beautiful thing.  I wanted it.  So before we left, I secretly picked off one of the glued down jewels and put it in my pocket.  And I remember knowing what I was doing was bad and I felt guilty.  I think I hid the jewel somewhere in my room.  I probably forgot about it.  But I still remember the feeling I had knowing I did something wrong.  The only other thing I remember stealing was mom’s cigarettes and alcohol.  You know, take some vodka and replace it with water.  Dumb ass.

Log in to write a note
August 14, 2021

I so happy you confessed.  I am sure you feel better to get that off your chest!  I stole a small little staple from the five and dime store.  It cost 98 cents.  I believe you are the first one I told.

August 17, 2021

That’s a universal experience and is part of growing up.  We develop a conscience and feel rightly guilty for doing certain things.  But lessons are learned and we become stronger for it.