Surprise obit

This morning I was thinking about an incident that happened when I was in grade school.  Supposedly one of my classmates died.  Something about trying to go down a chimney.  I’m really not sure.  My memories are sort of cloudy about this rumored death.  Anyway, I thought why don’t I look in a newspaper archive and see what I could find.  So I found a couple of websites that list newspapers and I found one that listed all the newspapers in my state.  I scrolled down and saw a newspaper for the town I was born in and I decided to click that link.  And I discovered that my aunt had passed away. We were never close. My parents divorced when I was very young and I rarely saw my father’s side of the family. My grandmother, but not my aunts. In an odd twist, I went down a new rabbit hole. I’m pretty sure my mother and my aunt did not like each other. No surprise. My mom didn’t like many people. And years later, I discovered my father wasn’t my biological father, so maybe that’s the reason there wasn’t much love in the family.  I’ll never know if anyone knew I wasn’t my father’s biological daughter. But I purchased a tree in memory of my aunt and included a scripture for good measure. Now I just have to finish what I actually set out to do. Looking at obits and being kind of creepy.

Log in to write a note
May 25, 2022

What a way to find out.  We had a girl who wasn’t killed but was raped in the 8th grade.  We stopped going out and riding bikes after dark because of it.  After I moved away there was a murdered girl.  Her killer was found 40 years later.  I am in my home town/middle and high school group pages.  If your family’s aunts and cousins etc lived close-by they may know about you but in the days before the internet it would not be common knowledge.  What a great upstanding thing to do is honor your aunt that way.  You are special.  😎