The longest the shortest

I think we’re coming up on the shortest day of the year.  And today, it’s been dark almost all day due to overcast skies and rain.  Typical.  I just want to hibernate.  Anyway, in my search for information about the shortest day of the year, I came across an article about the mating habits of a specific type of moth.  Copulating in the cold on the shortest day of the year (msn.com)

Interesting enough, but what amused me even more was the time the article published.  1:05 a.m.  Why do I find that funny?  I don’t know.  What else do you do at 1:05 a.m.?  Me, I’m trying to sleep.  Some people are watching TikTok.  Some people are probably wrapping Christmas presents while the children are sleeping.  Others are at a local bar.  Possibly some students are attempting to write that overdue paper.  But the entomologist, well, he’s trying to bring enjoyment to the readers and make some extra money to pay the mortgage.  Mentally, I’m still reveling in the summertime glory of sunlight at 5 p.m.  Right now, my memories are the only thing keeping me from purchasing 20 SAD (seasonal affective disorder) lights.  I know that after the 21st, the days will get longer.  God bless us everyone.

Log in to write a note