This is why I hate the holidays

I literally have no one to vent to right now.  Let me rephrase that – I have no one to vent to without my venting traveling back to bite me in the butt.  So, dear diary, you are my secret special venting place.  Yesterday, we went to our daughter’s apartment to drop off a suitcase because she is traveling back to Oklahoma to spend time with her great uncle.  He’s elderly, has some health issues, and my daughter would regret not seeing him again if something happened.  Okay – I get that.  She’s going first class because she’s taking her cat.  I know for a fact that airfare is very expensive, and she wouldn’t tell us to our face how much the ticket was.  Plus, she only purchased a one-way ticket.  She has lost her mind.  If she ever had one.  Anyway, she and her dad got into an argument and my husband stormed off and I followed because I drove my car and my daughter doesn’t own a vehicle.  And no, I’m not taking Uber back home.  What was the argument about you say?  I’m not sure, but I think my husband told our daughter to stay out of trouble and not cause any problems with my husband’s cousin – the one no one likes.  And my daughter was offended because she wouldn’t do that.  And my husband kept pushing the point until explosion time and we left.  Anyway, I have to listen to my husband justify his actions and tell me how nothing is his fault, how his children are supposed to “honor” him, like it says in the bible, and so on and so on.  He thinks our daughter will stir up problems and make it difficult for my husband to interact with the other family members.  There’s way more to this story, but his labyrinth of reasons is too twisted for me to sort out in a few sentences.  Perhaps next year’s bestselling novel.  Anyway, he tried to text her an apology, but she hasn’t responded and now he doesn’t feel good, is having a horrible day, blah, blah, blah.  Same old stuff.  I’ve been through way worse with our son.  And I told my husband I wasn’t going to deal with any drama with our daughter.  He’s already alienated our son.  And now I probably won’t see or talk to my daughter for a very long time.  So why do I stay?  I’m old.  I don’t have any money.  I don’t know anymore.  I’m tired.

Log in to write a note
December 18, 2021

hugs

December 19, 2021

I’d make it clear to your children that you fear being alone and poor and that you don’t agree with their father.

December 19, 2021

You are safe here.  I get it.  I am so sorry you have to settle.  It is impossible to take sides with the way you say your husband is.  I can just say be well and continue to vent if you need to.  I have plenty of (((hugs))) for you.  🥰