wait and see

So my husband has been on his medication for diabetes.  He also recently started a different blood pressure medicine.  However, today when he took his BP, it was very low.  He wanted to call his cousin who had been a nurse before she retired.  I countered by asking if she was his doctor.  No, but she’s a nurse.  And I repeated my original question.  He called his doctor’s office and was told to reduce the amount of diabetes medication.  But he doesn’t feel good and he went to bed early.  I’ve lived with him long enough to know when he really doesn’t feel good.  So I’m a bit concerned right now.  I’ll just do the wait and see.  Earlier today he asked for a salad, which I was more than happy to make.  He just never eats salads.  I could eat some type of green salad every day.  Same goes for soup.  His appetite has altered a great deal in the last week.  Either he’s not hungry or nothing tastes that great.  He doesn’t have any Covid type symptoms, so I’m assuming it’s his medication.  I’m glad he’s not eating the massive quantities of junk food, but the low BP is concerning.

And in other family news, there isn’t any.  My daughter isn’t communicating with me.  Neither is my son.  I’m assuming they would prefer not to bother speaking to me because that might mean I might mention something about their father, and neither wants to deal with him.  My son has cut his father out of his life entirely.  I should be grateful he’s willing to talk to me at all.  And now that our daughter has moved out of state, she is rarely in communication.  And what she does share is very short and limited.  This is not how I imagined my life would be.  happy new year.

Log in to write a note
January 1, 2022

Make an appointment with his doctor. When my BP started going low, I wound up in the hospital. I had early stage sepsis, and they caught it in time to treat it with fluids and antibiotics.

Make sure he’s drinking lots of liquids. What medication did they put him on for his diabetes? Insulin injections/pills/combo? I’ve taken just about everything, and still am taking pills and injections.

January 2, 2022

@caria He’s taking Metformin (500 mg).  It’s not the extended release that was recalled.  He drinks plenty of fluids.  He called his doctor and will be doing a follow-up appointment soon.

January 2, 2022

@wrecktangle I’m glad he’s getting in soon! Definitely not something to play around with. Yeah, I know the XR wasn’t recalled, but some people don’t do well with Metformin at all. I couldn’t take it. The regular Metformin was hell on me for a long time before I got pulled off it, but even the XR messed with me. I take Janumet now, which still has Metformin in it but it’s not as strong. The Januvia is the stronger of the two in the pill. Sounds like you guys are on top of things though.

January 2, 2022

Yeah, you gotta watch the blood sugar levels. Don’t let it get too low. Keep soda and sweets nearby. Half a glass of juice or pop if it goes too low. I have type 2. I’m sorry that your kids are incommunicado.