In 2007 on a Sunday

I remember you invited me to a “College Days” event, trying to convince me to attend that particular college.

I was excited.  I drove on a greyhound for many hours.  I wanted to attend that college; not just because I was interested in going to the college the event was taking place at…

…but it was the first time in several years I could be with you again.  I would get to see you after 3 years.

I remember spending the Greyhound bus feeling nervous and excited.  I had the feeling of butterflies in my chest and stomach the entire 10 hour ride there.

When the Greyhound finally arrived, I got up and stood in the line to get off the bus. I looked of the bus window and there you were.  You were walking to the side of my bus, toward the exit of the bus to wait for me.  You placed your hands in your pockets and I remembered thinking how masculine and handsome you were.  My heart fluttered more.  I’ve been crazy in love with you since 2001…and it’s 2007 at this point.

I remember hugging you when I got off the bus…I wanted to hug you tighter, but I held back.  I didn’t want to over step myself.  We weren’t dating anymore, at that point, but I was still very much in love with you.

It was nice being able to spend time with you. I had an awesome time at the conference.  I remember being outside of the church the college was connected to…and taking random goofy pictures with you.  It was fun and memories that I held dear.  I will say that I was incredibly shy around you.  I’ve said a few words to you. Ha ha.  I was nervous because I was around you.  I missed you, though.

I remember you told me to meet you in the  sanctuary for Sunday service at the church.  That Sunday, I was sitting in the pew waiting for you.  I was wondering if I looked ok and feeling a little nervous, once again.  I was sitting in the pew, admiring the sanctuary, and suddenly I felt this soft touch on my back.  I turned around and there you were.  You were wearing a purple button-up dress shirt that was neatly tucked into your black dress pants.  You were perfect. You sat next to me and I was just so happy to be there at church with you.

I remember during service, after reading scripture from the Bible, I had my bible closed laying on my lap, with my hands resting on top.  While listening to the service, I was surprised to feel your brush up against mine and you took my Bible to put it to the side of you.  The way you caressed my hands to move my bible was so gentle and tender.  It was almost as if you wanting to touch me in some way.  It wasn’t the first time you’ve done something like that with me.  Nevertheless, it always enticed me.  I made me melt a little.

Afterwards, we went to a Puerto-Rican restaurant after service.  I remember how hard it was to eat anything.  I told you that I couldn’t eat because the food was a little heavy.  However, that wasn’t the truth.  The truth was, I felt like I had butterflies in my stomach.  Being with you in the restaurant made me nervous. But I had another memory that made me melt a little more…

While I was sitting with the group of friends that you knew from that college (you were sitting across from me), I was listening to everyone talk when I heard the  “click” of your cell phone.  I looked over at you and realized you took a picture of me.  I smiled and you and you smiled back.  I’m not going to lie, it made me blush a little.

 

Even then, I wish I talked to you more.  I wish I had the opportunity to tell you more on how I felt.

I miss you.

I loved you then and I love you, now.

I will always love you.

 

Log in to write a note