End of the school year

I am trying to carve out a place for myself here, to get away from the regular parts of life, with jobs and kids and everything else. This diary became a place where all I talked about was what I did today and pictures and anecdotes of kids. Like a mommy diary but with blowjobs (and even those started to disappear.) And that is what I am doing, privately and publicly.

But it has gotten a little too serious. Hey, life is serious, far more serious than I ever thought. And there are big things to think about, big goals to reach for, big changes and events happening all around. So there is a lot of serious things to discuss in here, and I want to do that, regularly. I have had the opportunity to think a lot about life and marriage and relationships and the future and who I am as a person and who I want to be lately, so there will be more and more of that. But I don’t want to lose the whimsical and funny, which is also part of who I am and is the reason for the name on this diary.

So, a topic, and then maybe some good old fashioned random crap.

Last night we had our end of the year party which we always have at the school. Usually it is what they call in Norway a Blue Tour (blåtur), which means you don’t really have any idea where you are going or what you are doing. We met at a bar down by the bryggen, the old, famous part of Bergen by the sea. No one still had any idea where we were going but rumor had it there would be a boat involved, even though it was raining.

And that is what happened. We crossed the street and entered a smallish boat where we were going to sail a bit up the coast while we ate a pretty traditional summer dinner here in Norway: Shrimps. When I lived in America, eating cold shrimp was usually only done as a cocktail, with some sort of dipping sauce, usually involving horseradish. But here, they do it as a meal, where you peel your own shrimps, place them on a slice of bread and add your choice of lemon, pepper (or lemon-pepper), mayonnaise  and other stuff. Quite tasty.

 

shrimps

 

And of course there was beer. We got one drink a piece free and had to buy the rest. We cruised up the coast for a bit and then down again, stopping at an island outside Bergen to drop a couple of people off who lived there and then we headed to our final destination, the boss’s house, our principal. He is pretty damn rich because his family has been involved in real estate for years and he owns a bunch of buildings in the city center. So really nice house, in a prime location and terrific view.

imag0467

I spent a really long time talking to a couple of different people (by the way there were four men and 25 women on this trip, pretty typical for a school), who happen to be together romantically. The are both in their 20’s and we have always gotten along. He is going to be the main swimming teacher next year as my current supervisor is retiring. I am a better swimmer and probably teacher than he is so I will be in charge basically. He also wants me to get involved in English next year as he is in charge of English classes. The fall semester is going to be all about America and it is kind of stupid to have an American there and not use him. His girlfriend, also a teacher, asked a lot about how I met my Wife and came here and traveling and jobs and, well, what one normally talks about as one is drinking.

helleneset

 

View from the Boss’s house:

 

view

 

It was a really fun time.

Irony: every time I go out for the evening and my Wife is alone she has shrimp night for herself. But this week she had been sick with a fever and stomach problems and was just getting over it so she cancelled her shrimp night…only to get sent a picture from me of me having a shrimp night!

Speaking of sick Wife, we have been kind of burning up the sheets lately, but now it has been almost a week and it is weird how the more sex you have the more you want. I mean, you can go through periods of low activity for various reasons, and to go a couple weeks without is not that huge a thing. But when you get into a rhythm of doing it a few times a week you suddenly notice when it has only been a few days.

Sex is far more important to a relationship than a lot of people think.

Leaving for America in 10 days to be there for a month. Can hardly wait.  Will be updating I am sure throughout the summer.

That is all for today. A more normal entry, without the blowjobs. But the prognosis for that in real life is excellent for tonight, so you can comfort yourselves with that thought. I know I am!

Zaphod

 

All photos taken with my phone (and why is it such a pain in the ass to do photos from Flickr? I had to add these all in the source instead of using OD’s picture thing).



site meter

Log in to write a note
June 18, 2011
June 18, 2011

Nice pics – I like seeing what life is like in Norway.

June 18, 2011

that sandwich just reminded me of the ones i saw in germany that were just white bread buns with sardines lined up on them. haha. (gross) great views for sure!

June 18, 2011

Blue Tours sound like loads of fun! OD’s Flickr tool has never worked for me either.

To be honest, I generally prefer this type of entry. I am not the deep, thought-provoking type. 😉

On the airplane to the UK, it kept showing Bergen on the moving map of our journey. Each time the screen came on and I saw it, the inner girl in me was all squeally like “I know people there!” That tour sounds really fun!

June 18, 2011

I LOVE this entry! I so enjoy reading about the differences between Norwegian every day life and that in the US.

I hate shrimp. Guess it’s good my family immigrated, huh? 🙂 Love the views though. Glad they’ll be using you next year for their American stuff. Sounds like a fun time!

June 19, 2011

ryn Yup, we get real classy over at my place.

June 19, 2011

My dad, who was born in Denmark, never lost the habit of making sardine sandwiches … kipper snacks, I think they were called.

June 20, 2011

Love this.

June 27, 2011

re – indeed… my favorite album, all time

July 8, 2011

What the hell kind of phone do you have?!! I thought these pics were done with a regular (expensive) camera! Also, I like these kinds of entries from you. High five. lol