What is it about blokes

Had a question about why do guys cheat on their wives. This came about as a result of the current headline news with Tiger Woods and his affairs. Anyway – while I am no pyschologist, and no doubt there must be 100’s of books written on this very issue, I still thought I’d put in my 2 cents worth as well.

Firstly I’ll state the obvious – that it isn’t just guys is it. I mean plenty of women cheat on their husbands as well. In my case I got a call one day at work from my first wife to come home immediately. Thinking something was very wrong I did. I found my suitcase packed and on the front doorstep. Seemed see had been bonking a guy at her work and figured he was more fun – so I got the heave ho. However, this note is not about the women, so I’ll leave that point at that.

So if we look at TW just for a minute, why on earth would he cheat. I mean – have you seen his wife!!!! (Pic Below) She is drop dead gorgoeus. Also an ex colleague sent me some very "interesting" photo’s of his wife the other day and there can be no doubt this women is just stunning. Have no idea where the photo’s came from, but likely she was doing a rauncy shoot for TW and someone at the photographers decided they could make some good money out of them!

Well, anyway, the first thing that crosses my mind is the timing. All these affairs seem to have started about 3 years ago – well based on what we know that is. I suspect that it is no coincidence that that is when he had his first kid and now there is another wee ankle biter on the scene. From my expereince (4 kids), women seem to lose a lot of interest in sex immediately baby is placed on the boob. Firstly she is totally buggered most of the time, secondly what capacity for love and effection she has is showered on baby and thirdly she gets all the reinforcement and love she needs back from the baby. During all this hubby is expected to be understanding, thoughtful, supportive and all those other wonderful things.

Now while all this is going on at the home front, TW is constantly in situations where very attractive women make it known to him that they would not be unhappy for a bit of "hows your father". I mean they are not nuts are they. Firstly they can get the opportunity to say that they have bonked TW, secondly he will shower them with lots of things and money and thirdly if it all turns pear shaped then well – they can make shit loads of more money out of it can’t they. The only loser here is TW – but sadly the poor stupid sod can’t see that at the time can he. He is totally lead be his desire for release. And hell knows the old Mrs Palmer and her five Daughters lose their fun after awhile. Especially when he has it all their on a plate when ever he wants it.

So why did he get married in the first place then. Cause it seemed like a bloody good idea at the time didn’t it. He liked they idea of getting between the sheets with this blond beauty most nights, having the "trophy" wife to drag around to events and functions, to create little TW’s and have someone bring them up for him. He just had no frigging idea what a relationship really was did he. I mean who the hell does when they first get married. Lets be honest here – relationships are bloody hard work aren’t they. They just don’t happen and remain wonderful all the time. You need to constantly work at them. roll with the ebbs and flows. TW certainly didn’t bargin on what would happen the minute the little TW’s came on the scene. All of a sudden she was not as keen on sex, couldn’t travel with him all the time and was more demanding etc. Well hell, no one told him about all that now did they.

For most guys right now they just "suck it in", realize that cause they love their wives and want to have a long term relationship, they just have to cope with a bit more self gratification for awhile. On the other hand it would really really help if the wives understood the needs of their hubbies too wouldn’t it. Even if was just acknowledging that they understood etc. For many guys they would also just be happy with a good old HJ or BJ at time likes this. But sadly it is my guess that most women just don’t even want to go there.

Actually for what it is worth, this type of scenario is not just related to post baby periods. It happens whenever life at home becomes too comfortable and the ability to create passion seems like a distant memory. Again – heaps of books on that as well huh.

So for Babe and I – well we are still early into our relationship. Only just over 3 years really. WEe don’t have little babies or anything, although we do have my kids now and again. We have found ways to keep our sex life exciting and fun. Cause you know even at this early stage of our relationship it is still easy to fall into periods where just nothing much happens. When that does occur and we realise it, we do something about it. Then wonder why we hadn’t done that earlier. However not sure I could go into all that in here.

So there’s my 2 cents worth. Hell, pretty short and maybe totally off beat. Many guys are totally lead by their dick and for them they shouldn’t get married or have long term relationships – cause they are destined to end in disaster. Trouble is that can’t see that can they.

PS – the photo above is from that set i photo’s I got from my ex colleague. The others I couldn’t post on here!!!!!

 

Log in to write a note
December 6, 2009

Your explanations about TW demonstrate a lot of insight. It makes sense that even a player might eventually want children, and I guess a marriage comes before that for a lot of men still.**I’m hoping you and Kel have a great relationship. Sometimes love is cherished more when it comes later in life. You’ve BTDT and you know the pitfalls. I know I would cherish it if it found me again. Hoping so.

MRS
December 6, 2009

Personally, I have no tolerance for cheating. If you’re that unhappy….leave. Being unfaithful is just cowardly and speaks volumes about your integrity. On the other hand, I don’t really care much what anyone else does. The only two people I worry about are me and my husband.

December 6, 2009

HI! Haven’t been online for a bit. Thx for your note… for my 2 cents, I think there are two types of cheaters. Those who do it cos they can and want to. And those who are v. unhappy and don’t have courage to end things first. I’m glad I never cheated, but could easily have in right circs when unhappy, so don’t judge too harshly.

December 7, 2009

I think u r totally right but its also sometimes just about the thrill of the new person. I know from experience thats what it is…the new person. I love my husband and everything but the new is very very very tempting. Hope ur kids enjoy the books…their great I LOVE EM

There are so many beautiful stars that are cheated on, both men and women. Unfortunately, I have been on both sides of the cheating spectrum, however, I have never been married. I know I made bad judgment calls when I was younger and I drank A LOT. Not that I am blaming it on the alcohol, but it was much easier to do when I was a drunk! Now that I am older and not so much an alcoholic, I could notfathom the idea. I have know many people on both sides of the cheating spectrum, it’s sad, but these days it just seems all too common. I am not so trusting these days of relationships (for other reasons too) and have no ounce of ambition in me to deal with something like that again and so I am very wary and very single.

December 7, 2009

lol 🙂 it didnt take too long to type! hehehe

December 8, 2009

ya i know alot of guys get off on it but my hubby is not that type. he doesnt like to share which i understand and respect which is why i dont tell.

December 8, 2009

i did “let him go” back in january, almost a year ago and he cried for me to come back to him, for almost 2 months. and now we’re back in the same predicament… and i dont know what to do. my feelings are hurt really bad.