Why don’t I smile at them?

I turned a few inches to my right and as I did that I caught August’s attention and he looked right at me as I turned. I looked over his left shoulder a second before zeroing in on his face, which was smiling so brightly at me for no reason at all. Which normally would bother me and make me not interested in that person, but when August smiled at me I felt like he was smiling with me, even though I wasn’t smiling, and then I smiled. “Why am I always looking at other people. Why don’t I smile at them?

Log in to write a note
August 13, 2022

I do this too; I think, perhaps, it’s because you don’t trust people. I know that’s my issue. I’m always looking and judging, attempting to gauge people. More often than not, I do this to categorize them. I believe everyone does this to varying degrees; Some, I suppose, are just more open and trusting.
As for myself, I find it nearly impossible to “smile” at people when I first meet them. My natural instinct is to be on guard. ….I guess I’m just a very guarded person by nature. I’m guessing you are, as well.