Name Game

My MIL is here, staying in our apartment for almost 3 weeks. It really sucks but I’m trying to make the best of it by taking advantage of the help, around the house/with the baby, and the time I might be able to get away. I will go get my hair done this week and have a girls night, and maybe go out for NYE. Paul doesnt drink or anything so I doubt he will want to go. Anyway. The first few days with the MIL were the absolute worst, but its gotten better as we’ve gotten more used to having her here. Its not so bad today. Shes out on a walk right now and the baby is napping, so I’m taking advantage of the time to chill out.

Things are better than ever with Paul and I feel as though we are unbreakable. I know that could be a bit of an exaggeration but i definately feel we are SO strong. We’ve gotten in some fights in the past couple months, yes, but they’ve all been so civily resolved and so beneficial. Disagrements are normal, its how we are handling them that counts. Like last night, he got upset with me because I was being a little pessimistic about this big chunk of money they are suposedly going to throw at him (at work). I was just expressing concern over how bad he might freak out if they dont give him the kind of money he is expecting. Paul flipped out and couldnt even be next to me, he was so pissed. Of course in the morning we resolved it. If I have doubts, i really need to keep them to myself because he is really working hard to be more positive. He doesnt need me to make him worry. Hes trying to do less worryring and it was kinda stupid of me to bring up a negative side. But i was just thinking out loud. Shouldnt have shared i guess.

Good thing is- he DOES stand to get a bunch of money thrown at him, with Chef leaving and all. He is talking a lot more about having another baby. For xmas he gave me "coupons" he wrote out for like diaper changes and stuff like that- and the one he saved for last was hiding in his coat pocket and not wrapped with the others. It was the one for having another baby. I was so happy to read these little cards he made, that I teared up. Now im thinking all day about this new baby and what to name it. Haha.

I decided on a girl name, and I mentioned it somewhat to Paul, and I think he will go for it.

Isla, which means island….we live on an island and we’ve got a lot of local pride here, seeing as though we’re actually from the north. Its pronounced "EYE- LAH" in case you dont know. I am thinking Isla Paige. Being on this island and raising our babies here is like a dream for us. I just think it would be so fitting to name her after this dream life we are living.

I like Isla Paige, but it doesnt really go with our one syllable last name (Ray). I’ve always wanted to use Paige for a middle name though- to me it seems so retro, like Betty Paige. One of my friends kids’ middle names is Marie-Paige with a hyphen and I love that. I couldnt steal it though. As far as the one syllable last name thing…..how often are kids’ FULL names read out, like all 3 names together? Not often. More than anything it would be read and seen Isla Ray, or just Isla Paige, but not the full name together. Who cares if there are 2 one-syllable names back to back? We’ll see what my mom thinks. I like it. But I want to toss around some other middle names with it too. And I was thinking about nick names, and how they come about. When lucy was a little babe, we called her lulu (and still do) and goose for lucy goosey…I would like a 2.5 year old would call baby Isla "La La". Could be darn cute!

Im still hoping that I can get pregnant in March (no sooner!!!) and have a babe in December. If it took me beyond march to get pregnant (obviously likely!) that would be fine; if baby was due anytime December 2013 to April 2014 it would be perfect. I could put off that 3rd semester of nursing school to have a baby and jump right back in May.

As for boys names…I dont know. Paul has always wanted Leo after his grandpa but I dont like it now. I like the name ok- but I dont want to name him after Paul’s family. I dont want to have a boy because Pauls mom raised 2 boys and thinks she knows everything about raising boys. I dont think she knows shit, but OK. I dont want to hear it. But of course if I have a boy I will be overjoyed and happy- i just wont talk to his mom! LOL! I wont want to listen to her tell me what boys are like! She doesnt know anything!
 

For a boy i havent found a name I love. I like:

max

oliver

henry

ryder

i dont know….Levi, Eli, Lucas….nothing that I LOVE though. Brody, Roman……hmmmmm

Its all fun, and its all positive, and i’m looking forward to the next chapter.

Log in to write a note
December 29, 2012

I think Isla Paige with your last name sounds great. I also really like all the boy names you mentioned. A lot of them were the same ones I picked out for my boys =)

December 31, 2012

It sounds like you have an exciting year ahead!

Paige was my nieces middle name. <3 I think Isla Paige Ray goes perfect together. How sweet is it that he gave you a coupon for a baby!?!! Sqquueee!!! That’s perfect

January 2, 2013

That note was me.. Not sure why I wasn’t logged in.

January 2, 2013

That note was me.. Not sure why I wasn’t logged in.

January 2, 2013

I’ve a friend who named her daughter Victoria Paige. I’ve always liked that name. :-)And, Isla is an interesting name. As for the boy names you’ve listed, I like Henry.