Change.

I miss the happy place that I used to go to when I taught. Sometimes when a student gets something there’s an adrenalin rush of sorts. Things click for the student and it’s like I feed off of that. Even when some students are bored, that’s enough to make me energized to prove to them that something is exciting.

But not so this year. I feel like I’m dragging. I feel like I’m playing at being “mommy” more than being “teacher.” I don’t know if it’s the age, the school district or if I’m changing. I wonder what it was like for my mom when she was my age. She was married. With two children. A stay at home mom.

I’m tired of the “I don’t know how” statements. And the “you’re going too fast I can’t keep up!” And the “I don’t want to do this.” I’m getting to the point where I want the students to sit still, be quiet and do as their told. Instead of giving me the challenge that I so wanted in the past.

Why?

Log in to write a note
October 6, 2003

sometimes we get into this funks..we all do..it’s almost as though when things that we once loved so dearly become too routine we forget what it was that first brought us there. maybe all of the problems u’ve faced becoming a teacher, the challenges, the hurdles. maybe without realizing it it’s kind of left a hollowness in u. but believe ME, sweetie, someone who loves to teach as much as

October 6, 2003

u do could never actually lose that passion. maybe it’s just tucked away right now, maybe u’re just stressed out. just take some time to remember what it is you love so much about your job. think of the students whose lives u’ve changed and I could almost guarentee u that u’ll start to feel that pride u used to feel. because if there’s one thing I’ve always known about u from reading u’re

October 6, 2003

diary the past few years it’s that you absolutely LOVE to teach. and I just can’t see how that could ever change… Much love to you, xo

but would letting the kids stagnate make you any happier? it wouldn’t even really be easier on you, cause you know you’d be beating yourself up about it pretty much constantly. giving them what they deserve from you is probably the only way to let yourself find that sense of enjoyment again

October 7, 2003

Maybe it is just the group of kids, or perhaps it is you. Do you think you’ve gotten so bored with the material yourself that you’re going faster than usual? I’m also inclined to say that kids don’t try hard enough, sometimes. It’s like they want it dumped into their laps. Even I still get that way when I feel lazy. *shrugs* I just hope it gets better for you.

Hello, I was wondering if you would help me… I notice that your very beautiful diary has no adds in it, I know basic html, but nothing I do seems to get rid of it. I have heard that if you post something twice, that the adds go away. I don’t know what to post twice. I have been trying to get peoples attention with this but nobody seems to be replying…Please Help Me Thank you sooooo much!

RYN: I’m sure it’s the same Schuylkill River. It flows from up in the mountains down to Philadelphia.

October 22, 2003

I’m working toward my BSE as well… I flew out to Baltimore this past may to see my fiance who was then stationed at Aberdeen, Maryland… it was a gorgeous place. I’m sure this point in time will pass and all will be well again soon! God Bless, n