Sarcasm vs Irony

 

"Sarcasm is a tool of the weak."

 

I heard that quote for the first time not too long ago, and was somewhat confused by it, I must confess. I didn’t understand how the element of humor that I was most fond of could be labeled as some sort of weak vice, as though humor itself were a tool of the weak. Although some forms of sarcasm bothered me immensely, I failed to realize what sarcasm actually was…and the distinction between it, and it it’s root. What I had mistaken for sarcasm my entire life was simply irony, which is often the base of all sarcastic comments…the difference being that sarcasm is irony used as a weapon, with the purpose of inflicting some form of damaging blow with the intrinsic fearful defensive tactic of avoiding the inclusion of any form of conviction, so as to negate any repercussions.

"Sarcastic" commentary mocking ones self, or surroundings, or another’s, with the direct and obvious intent of drawing joy into horrible situations isn’t sarcasm at all…it’s simply an appreciation of irony as a means to inflict pleasure, rather than damage…so at long last I can finally agree that sarcasm is indeed a tool of the weak, and a terrible misuse of irony.

 

 

See douchebag below for a proper example of sarcasm

 

Log in to write a note

The way I always heard it was “Sarcasm is the last resort of a lesser mind”… well, since using sarcasm requires the understanding of irony, of which simple minds are COMPLETELY incapable, I’d have to disagree wholeheartedly. And given being mentally or emotionally disemboweled vs being actually physically disemboweled, I’d prefer being cut to size with sarcasm than a razor-sharp sword. 😉 Just sayin.

i feel like this is some sort of trap. i’m not watching that video. no i’m not going to do it. no way. k. i will. sure a valid point could have been made without such juvenile tactics but it is so very effective when riling up ignorant masses. it is sad that these type things put our country in such an ugly light these days.

(continued)… it becomes such that the point being argued is irrelevant. dont you think? idk.

ryn: oh. i dont dabble in politics either. not really.