Too soon, too soon…

 

Noticed Orion was back this evening– my own personal herald to the fall season. There is a certain patch of emptiness above my balcony which features an unusually non-light-polluted chunk of sky, and when september rolls around Orion begins to show up there…very late in the evening at first, just before daybreak…then slowly, as the seasons roll onward through autumn, into winter, and then deep winter, he works his way systematically into earlier time slots. When spring comes he takes a break, making way for the wilder and more erratic sky patterns, which are usually plagued by haze, humidity, and rising music. Only the big dipper, with it’s time-tested cast iron handle, is left to be seen in the summer sky…

The heavens are like childhood friends, in a way. The face in the moon has made that agonizing and lonesome moaning expression since before I even knew what the moon actually was. They’re like rocks. Reference points. Immortal creatures that watch over all of us as though we were their children. If you’ve ever gazed at a constellation in the sky, and wondered if somewhere someone of similar temperament was also gazing at it, you would likely be correct…

Log in to write a note

When terrible things happen in my life, the one constant I have always had is the moon. I don’t know why, but I find comfort in knowing that regardless of what happens, what I lose, who I lose, I will always have the moon. My dad used to catch me looking up at the moon, smile, and tell me the moon is my guardian. I hold onto that very dearly.

i like watching the sky, trying to find the seam that i can slip through to where all is white and a world is in the making. its like a shop back there. if you make it through a little alien man comes and covers the lens of your camera with his hand, takes out the film and shows you to the break room for your briefing. they give you snacks that taste like star, offer you water that tastes like…

That almost makes you feel less alone….