Writing routines

I have been able to manage around 1 extra  session per day most days this week. This has nearly doubled my progress on my novel in progress. I’m also working on building audience interaction tools (that mostly help me stay organized at this point, but could be easily made public and presented in a way that might be engaging to a reader).  I’m journaling daily, usually outside, longhand in a notebook. It’s a lot of stream of consciousness stuff, but part of it helped me to come up with and solidify a plan for this novel and for my writing life in general. That feels pretty empowering to me.

There are aspects of my life that I really hate. This plan could change them. I’m even getting organized.

Last night, I bought this lap desk thing because I find myself using my camera on my laptop a lot and when it’s in my lap if I shift, I go all shaky-cam. I am in a book club that meets 2 times per month on line. And there are a few other things like that too, like the recent writing conference I went to that require use of the laptop camera from time to time. Having this lap desk that picks the laptop just off my lap means I can shift around and be more comfy when using that feature. Also, there are little cubbies on the sides, one is drink shaped to hold a drink or writing implements, and the others would hold my notebooks nicely. I always refer to notebooks when writing and need to access my book during the book club. This is fantastic for me. I have a real desk in a real office. It’s a shared space in the house and I’m not comfortable working there. So, my “reading space” has become my office. LOL. I also totally bought this cute little bin that will hold all the crap I have piled all over next to my favorite chair.

I guess I’m moving forward. I just wish for a little more momentum.

I published this, then realized I didn’t actually write about my “writing routine” I’m establishing. LOL

The routine:

Get up, make coffee (because, obviously).

Write while sipping coffee (no set word count or anything, just whatever gets done. I don’t have a lot of time most mornings). I’m still working in my morning word puzzle (this makes me feel like my mind isn’t atrophying–it takes a few minutes, this the NYT Spelling Bee pangram puzzle thing). I’m actually getting up just a little bit earlier.

Morning (usually), participate in writing communities, networking, et cetera.

Mid morning or whenever–journaling outside, usually after around a mile walk.

evening: normal writing time (variable amount of time).

I’m trying to get an afternoon session that is equal to the morning session, but it’s hard to get time to do this.  Also, working on some documentation to make the second draft better, and planning for other projects, research etc. (this is less time than it sounds, like maybe 10-20 minutes/day).

There. Baby steps, documentation, progress.

Log in to write a note