The Ghost Blog Haunts

I received an email notification from Open Diary on a sick day.  Naturally, my initial response was “holy shit” laced with confusion and disbelief.  A Nyquil stupor might’ve contributed to the confusion, but beyond that,  I’ve not read nor written in this thing for the better part of nine years.  In a weird way, this is as jarring as receiving a message from a dead friend beyond the grave.  And of course, with that realization comes the existential anxiety that swells up when you have to consider and explain what you have been doing for the past nine years.  Where do you even start?

P.S. A significant chunk of my entries are missing.  As much as reacquainting myself with my teenage thoughts is hilarious (for the love of gramMar, whAt’s witH the RANdom capitAlizAti0n, TEEnage VersIon of Me?), I’d rather revisit the angsty, young adult stuff.  There’s just more flesh there, you know?  Beggars can’t be choosers, but reactiving this whole thing seems kind of pointless if only a handful of entries can be retrieved.  I wonder if there’s something that can be done.

Log in to write a note
kat
April 10, 2018

<3

 

April 10, 2018

@kaliko 😀

April 10, 2018

I think its cool they’ve revived it and am hopeful. It might take awhile to get there, but I think many people are disenchanted with facebook and a diary medium is great for us more introspective people.

April 10, 2018

@homeforeheweekend Oh, the sentiment is definitely shared, but part of me hoped that more than a handful of entries would be recovered.  I wrote in OD from 2001 to about 2009; most of those entries are gone.  That notwithstanding, I’m happy to return to this forum.

April 10, 2018

If after a couple days your entries are still not restored, please contact Support through the link at the bottom of the page, and they can investigate for you. Thanks, and welcome back!

April 10, 2018

@thediarymaster Will do! Thanks for the info.

April 10, 2018

Hmm mine were gone too last entry was 8 years ago only title exist nothing more .

April 11, 2018

@stardust1 Have you tried contacting OD’s Support yet?  I intend to do that within the next few days if my old entries aren’t recovered.

April 12, 2018

No not yet not sure I want to read painful entries from the past.

April 13, 2018

@stardust1 Totally understandable.  As much as I think I’m ready, I’m aware that I may be blindsided by a few things that time has allowed me to forget.