First Month of Dating

  Christine and I had gotten serious pretty quickly, but it felt so natural. Like it always should have been. I had never been in a relationship that was so easy and neither had she. We were sickeningly cute and lovey dovey from the get go and everyone said it.

   Before the first month was out I had told her I loved her. I even called my parents and told them about her. I never told my parents about anyone I was dating. Usually, they would just have to guess.

  On our one month dating anniversary, Christine had flowers delivered to my job. I was equally embarrassed and pleased. Rachel, whom still worked with me, was not happy. A lot of the girls I worked with were jealous, but Rachel more so. She was watching my new relationship with Christine skate right past the stagnant relationship she was in with Justin. Normally, I would have picked up on it and felt bad, but I was in my own little world. A world filled with love.

  When Halloween rolled around, Lori invited us to a Halloween party some friends of her were throwing. Christine was ecstatic that for the first time in her life she would get to dress in a ‘couples costume’ for Halloween. In her life she had never had that opportunity.

  That was the thing that always perplexed me about her.  She was smart and pretty and yet, now in her late 20’s, she hadn’t been in a serious relationship at this point. She admitted that in school, growing up, she was a bit of a know-it-all, so she wasn’t very popular. In college, she sort of briefly had a boyfriend or two, but they lasted less than a month. After College, she joined the Peace Corp. Then after she got back from the Peace Corp and had been diagnosed with MS. She wallowed in self-pity and books for a bit after that. By the time she met me she was just looking for a quick fling. With plans to move to NY to pursue her plans to work in book publishing, a relationship seemed out of the question. And then she met me.

 photo pict0002.jpg     photo kcpumpkin.jpg

             My Tribute Pumpkin for P-Chan                                                        Carving Pumpkins

  Anyway, for Halloween, we decided to go as Woody and Jessie from Toy Story. As was our norm, we looked and acted sickeningly adorable.

 photo 47b5cf25b3127cce98548e4f19ca00000027108gbowldi1e.jpg

Log in to write a note
October 15, 2013

i think her and i have a lot in common… given up, not expecting anything, never having couples costumes or a good valentines day… i’m glad she finally got it. your lovey doveiness is making me ill! you cute couples gross me out 😛 oh yeah, and of course i love books too 😀