interview FAIL

well.. still awake at midnight for no good reason.. lovely.

thought i might update on my interview i had for summer school today.. sucked. =(

little back story to this one..

I taught at this summer school program in 2007, when i went to the interview for it at that time, it was like a cattle call.. 30 or more teachers all still dressed from the school day waiting to get interviewed by a single interviewer filling out an interview sheet.. as in like.. a screening type interview..

so this is what i was prepared for..

what i got…

i walked in about 10 minutes before my interview.. was told to "go right in".. there were 5 interviewers sitting around a table.. yup, that’s right.. and interview panel..

now let me just say that i have had plently of panel type interviews.. and always do well.. don’t really care that it is a panel or not..

BUT i wasn’t prepared for that.. and i wasn’t quite able to recover from my fully unprepared, overwhelmed feeling.. so i babbled a bit.. my answers were good.. at least i think so (second guessing that now of course since i’m up at midnight overanalyzing).. BUT i think overall i came off as a bit nervous.. and not quite as the put together professional i like to come off as..

my only saving grace….

I’ve done this job before. And when i applied i messaged the guy who was the principal for this program over facebook (yes, he’s on my friend list) and asked what i had to do to get back into teaching there.. and he was really nice and said he’d do what he could to bring me back..

he was one of the five interviewers..

i think that made me a tad more uncomfortable actually.. because it’s one of those "kind of know you, kind of don’t at all" situations.. where you don’t know how to act.. like you know them.. or not.. kwim???

but now all i can do is hope for the best. and hope that my answers and experience speak louder than my stupid, nervous, babbling, demeanor..

sigh.. seriously?? can anything just ever be easy??…

Log in to write a note
May 19, 2011

wishing you the best hun!

May 20, 2011

I always overanalyze everything too, you probably did better than you think 🙂