looking to Christmas??

Some of you may think that I am crazy, but every year around this time.. yes, late August/early Sept.  I begin looking toward Christmas.  I am a self proclaimed Christmas NUT so this actually won’t surprise those that know me best. 

Although I may not actually shop or cook yet I am looking toward that.  Beginning to at least think of what gifts I am going to buy, possible ideas for gifts to make (although, most times i don’t follow through with this, i’m going to try to be better this year.) , what cookies I want to bake, parties I want to have.. etc.  I know, it’s early.  But this is where my mind goes.. especially on days when the air turns cooler such as today.

This may, very well, be our last Christmas that we are residents of New York.  Notice, i didn’t say our last Christmas IN New York, since I know very well that we will most likely travel home for Christmas.  Either way, I’d like to spend less time complaining about the horrendous lovely weather that we experience here in western NY and really just try to appreciate it.  Who knows when the next time i will experience snow and freezing temperatures for 5 or 6 straight months may be?.. lol

Anyway.. our thinking this year is that for our children.. all 4 of them, that we are going to purchase larger gifts that they want, instead of 8 million smaller toys.  Morgan and Miranda are with their mom this year for christmas and this will cut the shipping issues, in fact this is what we usually do for them on these off years.  And for the little ones.. they HAVE 8 million smaller toys.  I would rather buy them a few larger toys with some accessories to open as opposed to more smaller ones that will clutter up our home, not to mention, be a larger pain to move..

So here are our ideas..  some may think these are extravagent.. but this is our family and our Christmas.. each family has to decide what is right for them.. Growing up.. we got TONS for Christmas.. but nothing thoughout the year besides a gift or two for our birthday and school clothes.. so this was our BIG day.  I kind of carry that on with my girls.. kind of..

Anyway… so

Morgan… iPod nano,  I think a 2G will be more than sufficient..

Miranda.. digital camera.. a nice one, but again, nothing extravagant..

Maya and Paige..

or something else like it.. basically the cheapest 2 seater, girly powerwheels..  Sooo wierd, yesterday the blue Cinderella car I wanted to get was on walmart.com.. today.. no where to be found.. shoot!  better buy it soon..

AND this..

a nice wooden play kitchen..

ok that’s all for now..

 OH.. I just wanted to share a link to my favorite all time Christmas site…

http://www.organizedchristmas.com

It’s wonderful!!  Great message boards with christmas ideas, memories, and heads-up to some great sales!  Also there are printables to create your own Christmas notebook/binder to stay organized.. i love it!

Log in to write a note
August 18, 2007

I love the period from Halloween to Christmas. I go crazy too 🙂 I do my Christmas shopping year-round. If I see something in February that I think someone would like for Christmas, I buy it and just put it away and keep a list of what I have bought for whom. I always wanted a Power Wheels car when I was little! 🙂 My niece has a VW Bug Power Wheels 😀

August 18, 2007

I love hearing from someone who LOVES Christmas! :o) !! I do too, and I get so tired of hearing people complain about it. The plans you have are wonderful. My daughter had one of those play kitchens! blessings, Weesprite

August 18, 2007

Can i ask where are you moving out? I love Christmas too! It’s tha best time of the year i think! all the best:)

August 18, 2007

oh my gosh, i am such a christmas nut too. last year i randomly decided i was going to do “theme” trees each year. we have this place down here called garden ridge (and HOLY CRAP if you ever move here, you will LOVE it at christmas time!!!) that is absolutely HUGE!! i can’t even think of another store to compare it to. it’s gigantic. and their sales are AMAZING!!! they sell some of their own “theme” sets, but they also have enough random things to create your own. i’ll show you some pictures of our tree last year….my theme was with color, we did all white lights, and white/ivory/crystal/metalic ornaments. but i’m telling you this store….is decoration HEAVEN!!! not just for tree stuff. EVERYTHING!!! though it’s a little hard to get in the christmas spirit down here with no snow…one trip to that store and i’m all set lol. and….we totally started our christmas decoration shopping at garden ridge in oct last year – they had a huge sale lol. AND….we’re already planning out where the tree will go, and how we’ll set things up, put lights on the house, ect…because we have a whole new place to work with. we LOVE christmas!!!

August 18, 2007

and that’s another thing…..you KNOW we’d have some kick-ass christmas parties if you move here lol

August 18, 2007

i love christmas too!i’ve already ordered a few gifts!!we have it scheduled in the daycare contract that we have black friday off! ;)♥

August 18, 2007

I love Christmas, but I haven’t even started to think about it yet! I spend almost all of December and late November baking and cooking. lol

August 18, 2007

I love Christmas. I buy too many gifts! This year will be light, I’m sure.

August 18, 2007

you are SO not alone, i started buying stuff a couple of months ago…LOL! I already have a couple of movies picked up, and a few small things…this year Ash will get one big thing, usually every year that’s how it goes, and then some smaller stuff..but i’m with you, not TOO much…too cluttery!

August 18, 2007

I LOVE Christmas too!! I usually start in October with the shopping 🙂 I go all out with the decorating… and I love making sugar cookies, batches and batches of them! thanks for the site! I will definitely check it out