Busy, busy, busy…

Well, we survived a dinner party of 18 on Friday night, followed by a Valpolicella wine tasting Saturday afternoon.  The weather has been chilly and damp, so I am looking forward to getting to Miami on Wednesday, as it is 30°F warmer there at the moment!  That enjoyment will be short-lived, as early next week I head to NYC.

The highlight of Friday’s dinner was steak tips marinated in Burgundy and herbs for 2 days, and several bottles of a 1982 Chateau Smith Haut Lafitte from Graves that was just sublime.  Sadly, they were the last from my cellar, but have definitely peaked, so ageing them any further would have been to no benefit.  We did wax eloquent over the wine, it must be admitted.  When you have that many oenophiles in a room sampling something esoteric, we will tend to drone on about it.

I received an advance copy of my friend FT’s final book.  He was the one who died from melanoma referenced in the previous entry.  It was gratifying to see that I made it into the acknowledgements in the book!

 

Log in to write a note
March 12, 2018

My condolences for the loss of your friend, good to hear that he has a final book. I consider books to be a form of immortality available only to authors.

 

March 12, 2018

@treatiseonkarma He left behind a legacy of very informative, but also beautifully phorographed books.  I’m thrilled to have them in my collection.