One day, two seasons…

The last 24 hours has been decidedly odd.

Yesterday was in the mid-70’s, and it has dropped 30 degrees since then.  Tonight will be just above freezing.  It made me recall a friend, who years ago wrote the first (and only) line of his novel – “She came into his life when the seasons were at war with each other.”  I don’t know what the intended plot was from there, but liked the opening.

In any case, tonight is definitely a good night for a Hot Toddy.  I like to use The Famous Grouse Smoky Black, a nicely peated malt whisky blend, a lemon wedge, some honey, a few cloves, star anise and a cinnamon stick.  Add boiling water and the chill is chased out of your bones.  I like the flavor, and there is even some evidence that medicinal benefits do exist.

This year is already racking up the frequent flyer miles.  There have already been two Italy excursions.  Some East Coast domestic travel coming up, then I head to Los Angeles for a few weeks in March/April.  Immediately back to Italy from there in mid-April through mid-May.  How I look forward to the days when my travel schedule isn’t booked out months in advance!  My fantasy at this point is to stay in one place for 12 months and not be on an aircraft.

 

Log in to write a note
February 12, 2018

A weather entry! One year back in the 1990s, I was a million miler on several of the frequent flyer clubs. Like you, I did enjoy the perks but would have enjoyed staying home more than a few days. Last year, I was just thankful I had my TSA pre-check so I didn’t have to strip for the TSA folks.

February 13, 2018

@altair Becoming a member of the million mile club was one of the most underwhelming experiences. Not sure what fanfare I expected, but whatever it was, it didn’t happen.

February 14, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm Interesting you mention how underwhelmed you felt when you hit your first million miles. I remember a couple of years ago, I hit one of the levels on United when I was flying from Billings MT to Minneapolis and back to Austin. I felt a little sad about all of my two sons birthdays I missed when I was traveling for work and the marriage that didn’t make it because I was gone all the time (even though she liked the money I was making traveling). I like to travel to clients to help solve their problems or to teach, but hate the traveling part 100%.

February 13, 2018

On cold nights I like Port.